Fire and Fury for the Tobacco Girls Fire and Fury for the Tobacco Girls
Book 3 - The Tobacco Girls

Fire and Fury for the Tobacco Girls

A gritty, gripping historical novel from Lizzie Lane

    • 4.7 • 6 Ratings
    • £2.99
    • £2.99

Publisher Description

Catch up on Lizzie Lane's gritty, historical saga series set in Bristol's Tobacco factories...

As war rages, everyone has to do their bit...

Bristol. 1941

As the clouds of war grow bleaker both at home and abroad, the Tobacco Girls are determined to do their bit for King and Country. To that end Maisie Miles and Bridget Milligan become voluntary ambulance drivers.

As well as coping with the frequent air raids, Maisie is kept on her toes with three new junior employees one of whom is particularly testing.

Bridget’s heart becomes torn between family loyalty and American tobacco tycoon Lyndon O’Neill III, the man she loves.

Meanwhile Phyllis Harvey has joined the WAAF, opting to serve overseas whilst trying to escape her past. Her letters home are upbeat and her friends are initially envious of descriptions of sunshine and blue sea. The truth she hides is that life on the island of Malta is fraught with extreme food shortages, daily air raids and the fear that tomorrow might never come.

The future appears far less certain as the reality of war bites into The Tobacco Girls’ lives.

An atmospheric historical saga following the lives and loves of those who work in Bristol’s famous Tobacco Factory.

Perfect for fans of Rosie Clarke, Fenella J Miller and Tracy Baines.

Have you tried Lizzie Lane’s other series – Coronation Close and the Orchard Cottage Hospital – you’ll just love them!

What readers are saying about The Tobacco Factory series:

'Brilliant series. Oh my, the story of The Tobacco Girls gets better with each book.'- Reader Review

'A gripping saga and a storyline that will keep you hooked' - Rosie Goodwin

'Another brilliant story, as usual You can really get into all the individual characters. I love historical WW2 stories.' - Reader Review

'Great read. Yes another start to a great read and so pleased it's the first of the next few, Got them all waiting and ready' - Reader Review

'The Tobacco Girls is another heartwarming tale of love and friendship and a must-read for all saga fans.' - Jean Fullerton

'Really interesting facts, and great characters already. can't wait for the next book in the series. would highly reccomend this book.' - Reader Review

'Lizzie Lane opens the door to a past of factory girls, redolent with life-affirming friendship, drama, and choices that are as relevant today as they were then.' - Catrin Collier

'Thoroughly enjoyed the first book and cant wait to read how the 3 girls got on during and after the war. I really felt as if I lived in that era as the book had drawn me right in.' - Reader Review

'If you want an exciting, authentic historical saga then look no further than Lizzie Lane.' - Fenella J Miller

' A real page turner. This is an intriguing start to a new series. The characters are fully rounded and we are drawn into the darker side of life in Bristol during the first world war.' - Reader Review

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2021
28 September
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
362
Pages
PUBLISHER
Boldwood Books
SIZE
952.8
KB

More Books Like This

Dark Shadows over Coronation Close Dark Shadows over Coronation Close
2024
Shameful Secrets on Coronation Close Shameful Secrets on Coronation Close
2023
Women on the Home Front Women on the Home Front
2014
New Neighbours for Coronation Close New Neighbours for Coronation Close
2023
The Coffee Shop Book Club The Coffee Shop Book Club
2013
A Wedding for the Cornish Girls A Wedding for the Cornish Girls
2023

More Books by Lizzie Lane

The Tobacco Girls The Tobacco Girls
2021
Shameful Secrets on Coronation Close Shameful Secrets on Coronation Close
2023
Heaven and Hell for the Tobacco Girls Heaven and Hell for the Tobacco Girls
2022
New Neighbours for Coronation Close New Neighbours for Coronation Close
2023
Dark Shadows over Coronation Close Dark Shadows over Coronation Close
2024
Dark Days for the Tobacco Girls Dark Days for the Tobacco Girls
2021

Customers Also Bought

War Clouds Over Blackberry Farm War Clouds Over Blackberry Farm
2021
New Recruits at Goodwill House New Recruits at Goodwill House
2022
Duty Calls at Goodwill House Duty Calls at Goodwill House
2022
The Land Girls of Goodwill House The Land Girls of Goodwill House
2022
A Wartime Reunion at Goodwill House A Wartime Reunion at Goodwill House
2023
A Wartime Summer A Wartime Summer
2022

Other Books in This Series

Heaven and Hell for the Tobacco Girls Heaven and Hell for the Tobacco Girls
2022
Marriage and Mayhem for the Tobacco Girls Marriage and Mayhem for the Tobacco Girls
2022
A Fond Farewell for the Tobacco Girls A Fond Farewell for the Tobacco Girls
2023
The Tobacco Girls The Tobacco Girls
2021
Dark Days for the Tobacco Girls Dark Days for the Tobacco Girls
2021