The Tobacco Girls The Tobacco Girls
Book 1 - The Tobacco Girls

The Tobacco Girls

The start of a wonderful historical saga series from Lizzie Lane

    • 4.6 • 7 Ratings
    • £1.99
    • £1.99

Publisher Description

The start of a thrilling new series, from bestselling author Lizzie Lane set in Bristol which follows three bestfriends through thick and thin.

Bristol 1939.

School leaver Maisie Miles suspects her father, a small-time crook, has an ulterior motive for insisting she gets a job at the W.D.H.O. Wills tobacco factory but keeps it to herself.

She's befriended by effervescent Phyllis Mason and kind-hearted Bridget Milligan who take pity on her and take Maisie under their wing.

But beneath their happy go lucky exteriors they all harbour dreams and worries about what the future holds.

Engaged to be married Phyllis dreams of romance and passion but when it comes there are dire consequences.

Bridget seemingly the level headed one harbours a horror of something unspeakable that she cannot easily come to terms with.

There's great comradeship at the tobacco factory, and with the advent of war everything is about to change and even the closest friendships are likely to be strained.

An atmospheric historical saga following the lives and loves of those who work in Bristol’s famous Tobacco Factory.

Perfect for fans of Rosie Clarke, Fenella J Miller and Tracy Baines.

Have you tried Lizzie Lane’s other series – Coronation Close and the Orchard Cottage Hospital – you’ll just love them!

What readers are saying about The Tobacco Factory series:

'A gripping saga and a storyline that will keep you hooked' - Rosie Goodwin

'Great read. Yes another start to a great read and so pleased it's the first of the next few, Got them all waiting and ready' - Reader Review

'The Tobacco Girls is another heartwarming tale of love and friendship and a must-read for all saga fans.' - Jean Fullerton

'Really interesting facts, and great characters already. can't wait for the next book in the series. would highly reccomend this book.' - Reader Review

'Lizzie Lane opens the door to a past of factory girls, redolent with life-affirming friendship, drama, and choices that are as relevant today as they were then.' - Catrin Collier

'Thoroughly enjoyed the first book and cant wait to read how the 3 girls got on during and after the war. I really felt as if I lived in that era as the book had drawn me right in.' - Reader Review

'If you want an exciting, authentic historical saga then look no further than Lizzie Lane.' - Fenella J Miller

' A real page turner. This is an intriguing start to a new series. The characters are fully rounded and we are drawn into the darker side of life in Bristol during the first world war.' - Reader Review

'The Tobacco Girls is another heartwarming tale of love and friendship and a must-read for all saga fans.' Bestselling Author, Jean Fullerton

'Lizzie Lane opens the door to a past of factory girls, redolent with life-affirming friendship, drama, and choices that are as relevant today as they were then.' Bestselling Author, Catrin Collier

'Lizzie Lane's stories get me to and from work every day. Love them.' Reader Review

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2021
5 January
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
358
Pages
PUBLISHER
Boldwood Books
SIZE
926.4
KB

More Books Like This

Dark Shadows over Coronation Close Dark Shadows over Coronation Close
2024
Shameful Secrets on Coronation Close Shameful Secrets on Coronation Close
2023
New Neighbours for Coronation Close New Neighbours for Coronation Close
2023
Women on the Home Front Women on the Home Front
2014
The Coffee Shop Book Club The Coffee Shop Book Club
2013
A Wedding for the Cornish Girls A Wedding for the Cornish Girls
2023

More Books by Lizzie Lane

Dark Days for the Tobacco Girls Dark Days for the Tobacco Girls
2021
Heaven and Hell for the Tobacco Girls Heaven and Hell for the Tobacco Girls
2022
Dark Shadows over Coronation Close Dark Shadows over Coronation Close
2024
Shameful Secrets on Coronation Close Shameful Secrets on Coronation Close
2023
New Neighbours for Coronation Close New Neighbours for Coronation Close
2023
Fire and Fury for the Tobacco Girls Fire and Fury for the Tobacco Girls
2021

Customers Also Bought

War Clouds Over Blackberry Farm War Clouds Over Blackberry Farm
2021
New Recruits at Goodwill House New Recruits at Goodwill House
2022
Duty Calls at Goodwill House Duty Calls at Goodwill House
2022
The Land Girls of Goodwill House The Land Girls of Goodwill House
2022
Welcome to Weaver Street Welcome to Weaver Street
2022
A Wartime Reunion at Goodwill House A Wartime Reunion at Goodwill House
2023

Other Books in This Series

Dark Days for the Tobacco Girls Dark Days for the Tobacco Girls
2021
Fire and Fury for the Tobacco Girls Fire and Fury for the Tobacco Girls
2021
Heaven and Hell for the Tobacco Girls Heaven and Hell for the Tobacco Girls
2022
Marriage and Mayhem for the Tobacco Girls Marriage and Mayhem for the Tobacco Girls
2022
A Fond Farewell for the Tobacco Girls A Fond Farewell for the Tobacco Girls
2023