Light Cavalry Action

A gripping military thriller of combat and the courtroom

    • 3.0 • 1 Rating
    • £3.99
    • £3.99

Publisher Description

A military hero? Or a traitor to his comrades and his country? A gripping thriller full of suspense and intrigue, from master author Max Hennessy.

When, in 1939, a letter cast doubts on the military reputation of a man likely to become Commander-in-Chief of the British Expeditionary Force if war with Germany should be declared, he had no alternative but to bring the matter to court.

The case took the judge, the jury and a fascinated public back to a day in the winter of 1919 when British troops, in action against Bolshevik forces in South Russia, made the last charge of British horsed cavalry. Their commander was Lieutenant General Henry Prideaux: for this, ‘the Balaclava of the Russian Civil War’, he won the D.S.O. and made his name.

But justifiably? ‘The truth,’ one of his subordinates in the action had written, 'is that before – and after – the action at Dankoi, when it came to leading and giving orders, Colonel Prideaux was noticeably not among those present.’
A scintillating story of deceit, conflict and the final days of British cavalry might, this is Max Hennessy at his very best, perfect for fans of Alistair MacLean, John Grisham and A Few Good Men.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2021
19 July
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
373
Pages
PUBLISHER
Canelo
SIZE
1.8
MB

More Books by Max Hennessy

2019
2019
2019
2019
2020
2019

Customers Also Bought

2018
2017
2018
2020
2017
2021

Other Books in This Series

2021
2021