• £4.99

Publisher Description

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER

A TENSE PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER RIPPED STRAIGHT FROM THE HEADLINES . . .

Twenty years ago
21-year-old Sophie Collier vanishes one night.
She leaves nothing behind but a trainer on the old pier -
and a hole in the heart of her best friend Francesca.

Now
A body's been found.
And Francesca's drawn back to the seaside town she's tried to forget.
Perhaps the truth of what happened to Sophie will finally come out.
Yet Francesca is beginning to wish she hadn't returned.

Everywhere she turns are ghosts from her past.
The same old faces and familiar haunts of her youth.
But if someone knows what really happened to Sophie that night then now's the time to find out - isn't it?

Except sometimes discovering the truth can cost you everything you hold dear - your family, your sanity and even your life . . .

Praise for Claire Douglas's thrillers:

'Thrillingly tense and twisty' B A Paris

'Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train' Marie Claire

'Packed with a killer twist' Closer

'Superb plotting' Jenny Blackhurst

'Will give you chills' Sunday Mirror

'Gripping' Closer

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2016
July 18
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
Penguin Books Ltd
SIZE
3.6
MB

Customer Reviews

who else!! ,

Great read

Couldn’t put it down felt I knew the town so well. Great twists & turns in the story especially at the end!! A must read!!

Livingwithaspringer ,

Loved it.

The book was a good and easy read from the beginning to the end.

I’m trying to be careful not to give away too much of the plot! I did spend a big chunk of the book wondering why the main present day characters were bothering doing what they were doing so much so that I half expected it all to end in a disappointing anticlimax. Wrong!

Well worth reading, I thought, and I will be looking out for more by Claire Douglas.

CherylM-M ,

Good story, a bit weak on suspense

Frankie doesn’t really want to return to the town of her childhood. The place of some of her greatest heartbreaks and the scene of her friend’s disappearance. Sophie and Frankie used to be best friends and share secrets, including a fatal one.

Now after all these years it seems as if Frankie might be able to answer some of the open questions about what happened to Sophie. Did she stumble and fall, was she pushed or was she was taken and killed elsewhere?

At first it seems as if everyone wants the same thing as Frankie until someone starts sending her threatening messages and she starts seeing and hearing strange things.

Is Sophie’s killer trying to get rid of her too? Does someone want to keep the truth quiet? Is Frankie hiding secrets of her own?

Douglas shows the internal and external divide between the working class estate kids and their environment, and the more well-situated Frankie. Actually it seems to be more of a Frankie problem, either that or a Douglas one. Her disdain is almost palpable when she describes her former friends and houses. Condemning them for letting themselves go and not wanting to achieve more in life.

From a thriller perspective it could have been a little more tense and developed. The premise is ok, but some of the dialogue is a little tv B movie. I think Douglas has the capability of producing a tighter more suspenseful piece of work and look forward to reading it when she does.
*I received a copy of this book via NetGalley.*

More Books by Claire Douglas