• £4.99

Publisher Description

From the international number one bestselling author of The Confession comes an intense, clever and gripping thriller, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, JP Delaney and White Lies.

It's June 2008 and twenty-one-year-old Adam Lattimer vanishes, presumed dead. The strain of his disappearance breaks his already fragile family.

Ten years later, with his mother deceased and siblings scattered across the globe, Adam turns up unannounced at the family home. His siblings return reluctantly to Spanish Cove, but Adam's reappearance poses more questions than answers. The past is a tangled web of deceit.

And, as tension builds, it's apparent somebody has planned murderous revenge for the events of ten years ago.

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2020
January 16
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
432
Pages
PUBLISHER
Quercus
SIZE
9.4
MB

Customer Reviews

bubbles1962 ,

Can you guess the killer?

This is one well plotted psychological thriller/mystery. I thoroughly enjoyed this read, starting it one afternoon and finishing it the next afternoon. So many characters, with different personalities, brilliantly written.

The Lattimers seem to have it all, wealth, status, class and each other. But do they really? Frazier the father, Kathleen mother, and six children, James, Ryan, Kate, Adam, Ellen, Clio. All different and all dysfunctional in their own way.

As the story begins Adam who disappeared 10 years earlier has returned home, his mother Kathleen had died years earlier after Adam had gone missing, believing him to be dead. The family had split. But when Adam turned up back home all of them were called back to the family home by Frazier, it wasn’t a request more a demand. Clio flew home from New York, where she had overstayed her stay, Ryan came back from Italy, James and Kate lived in Dublin so not too far to travel, Ellen still lived at home with her father.

Tensions are high, all of them wanting to know where Adam had been for 10 years, why hadn’t they heard from him? Blaming him for the death of their mother. But Frazier told them all it was a time to celebrate, his homecoming and that Adam would explain to all of them at the same time.

Frazier plans a party on a boat, but 9 of them go out on that boat and only 8 come back alive. The story is told from the points of view of all the brothers and sisters, and in between chapters as each person is questioned by Detective Rob Downes.

Part two of the book is told from a few years back and the present, bringing in some more plot twists, but still with the brothers and sisters. You really felt for some of these characters, what they had been through, misunderstandings, deception. The father was a very strict man, the mother was the loving one, but they had all struggled after her death, she had seemed to be more of the glue that kept the family together as much as she could. The father not so.

The story keeps the reader guessing all the way through to the end, giving a couple of clues in the last few chapters, but you don’t know for certain what happened until the end. A great read.

I would like to than #netgalley and #Quercus for an eARC of this book in exchange for an honest, fair and unbiased review.

More Books by Jo Spain