The Chinese Lantern The Chinese Lantern

The Chinese Lantern

A touching saga of true love in the face of adversity

    • 5.0 • 4 Ratings
    • £0.99
    • £0.99

Publisher Description

Born on opposite sides of the world, war brings two young people together.

In The Chinese Lantern, Harry Bowling writes a heart-wrenching saga about the strength of love and the brutality of war. Perfect for fans of Annie Murray and Dilly Court.


In May 1929 two babies are born on the same day on opposite sides of the world. In Tanners Alley in Bermondsey, Ruby Neal gives birth to a son, Paul. On the edge of a paddy field in Eastern China, a young woman dies giving premature birth to a girl. A travelling trader takes pity and takes the tiny child to the Anglican mission to be cared for. He becomes the child's guardian and names her Mei Li Ching.

By the time Paul and Mei Li reach their twenty-first birthdays, they could not have had more different lives. And it is only as a consequence of war that they ever meet. Instantly attracted to each other, they are soon to discover the problems their cultural differences - and family prejudices - will bring.

What readers are saying about The Chinese Lantern:

'I loved this story - five stars'

'As with all the Harry Bowling books, a very good read. You are transported into the era and get to know the characters'

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2011
21 July
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
325
Pages
PUBLISHER
Headline
SIZE
1.2
MB

More Books Like This

That Summer in Eagle Street That Summer in Eagle Street
2012
Waggoner's Way Waggoner's Way
2011
As Time Goes By As Time Goes By
2011
Bad Boy Jack Bad Boy Jack
2012
Harnessing Peacocks Harnessing Peacocks
2012
Peggie Peggie
2012

More Books by Harry Bowling

The Girl from Cotton Lane The Girl from Cotton Lane
2010
Backstreet Child Backstreet Child
2011
The Whispering Years The Whispering Years
2011
Down Milldyke Way Down Milldyke Way
2010
Tuppence to Tooley Street Tuppence to Tooley Street
2010
As Time Goes By As Time Goes By
2011