• £0.99

Publisher Description

‘Wow! What an enthralling and emotional read! I was literally in tears… Captivating.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

A world at war. One woman will risk everything. Another will uncover her story.

1940: When the island of Guernsey is invaded by the Nazis, two sisters are determined to rebel in any way they can. But when forced to take in a German soldier, they are shocked to find a familiar face on their doorstep – a childhood friend who has now become their enemy.

2016: Two generations later, Lucy returns to Guernsey after the death of a distant cousin. As she prepares the old family house for sale, Lucy discovers a box of handwritten notes, one word standing out: resistance. Lucy’s search for the author will uncover the story of a forgotten sister who vanished from the island one night, never to be seen again.

A timeless story of love and bravery. Fans of Fiona Valpy and Kate Quinn will be absolutely gripped from the very first page.

Readers love The Girl from the Island:

‘I finished this novel last night and I cannot get it out of my head… Put the phone off the hook, pour yourself a nice hot chocolate and settle down for a wonderful read’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘I was gripped from the beginning and could not put it down. I lost a lot of sleep on this one and do not regret it in the slightest!!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘Unputdownable, passionate, captivating, and magnetic!!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘Absolutely brilliant… I had to stay up late to read the next chapter!! I couldn't put it down’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘Gripping and very emotional… This book has it all and I loved it’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘A heart wrenching story of love, loss and survival’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘A beautiful, wonderful, and poignant story’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘Utterly beautiful and poignant… I was blown away’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

About the author

LORNA COOK is the author of the Kindle #1 bestseller The Forgotten Village. It was her debut novel and the recipient of both the Romantic Novelists’ Association Katie Fforde Debut Romantic Novel Award and the Joan Hessayon Award for New Writers. Lorna lives in coastal South East England with her husband, daughters and a Staffy named Socks. A former journalist and publicist, she owns more cookery books than one woman should, but barely gets time to cook.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2021
April 1
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
400
Pages
PUBLISHER
Avon
SIZE
2.2
MB

Customer Reviews

imfedupof this onsense ,

Deeply moving

Captivating, absorbing and educational. So much about the history of the Channel Islands which is not generally known woven into a wonderful story

More Books by Lorna Cook