• £5.99

Publisher Description

A battle-hardened soldier has just 24 hours to expose a deadly conspiracy at the heart of the Roman Empire in this brilliantly gripping historical thriller from Sunday Times bestseller and Ancient Rome expert, Harry Sidebottom.
________________________

A lone figure stands silhouetted atop the Mausoleum of Hadrian. Behind him, the sun is setting over the centre of the known world. Far below, the river is in full flood. The City of Rome lies spread out before him on the far bank.

Footsteps pound up the stairs. He's been set up. An enemy is closing in; he is cornered. He jumps.

Bruised and battered, he crawls out of the raging river. He is alone and unarmed, without money or friends, trapped in a deadly conspiracy at the heart of the Empire. The City Watch has orders to take him alive; other, more sinister, forces want him dead. As the day dies, he realises he has only 24 hours to expose the conspirators, and save the leader of the world. If the Emperor dies, chaos and violence will ensue. If the Emperor dies, every single person he loves will die.

He must run, bluff, hide and fight his way across the Seven Hills.

He must reach the Colosseum, and the Emperor.

He must make it to The Last Hour.

Kiefer Sutherland's 24 meets Gladiator in this breathless historical thriller - for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Ben Kane, Simon Scarrow and Conn Iggulden.
________________________

Praise for The Last Hour and Harry Sidebottom:

'An amazing story of bloodlust, ruthless ambition and revenge' - The Times

'Relentless, brutal, brilliant, this is Jack Reacher in ancient Rome' - Ben Kane

'Epic' - Mary Beard

'A ripping story...this transplanting of 24 to Ancient Rome is a great success' - Daily Telegraph

'A cracking tale. More twists and turns than the Tiber itself' - Rory Clements

'An extraordinarily vivid take on the ancient world' - Evening Standard

'Grabbed me from the start. I loved it' - Donna Leon

'The best sort of red-blooded historical fiction' - Andrew Taylor

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2018
March 8
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
400
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bonnier Publishing Fiction
SIZE
1.3
MB

More Books by Harry Sidebottom