• £5.99

Publisher Description

'Laetitia Rodd is a warm and engaging heroine' The Times





For readers of The Thursday Murder Club, M.C. Beaton and James Runcie, The Mystery of the Sorrowful Maiden is the charming third mystery in Kate Saunder's series about Laetitia Rodd, the indomitable Victorian lady detective.



In the spring of 1853, private detective Laetitia Rodd receives a delicate request from a retired actor, whose days on the stage were ended by a theatre fire ten years before. His great friend, and the man he rescued from the fire, Thomas Transome, has decided to leave his wife, who now needs assistance in securing a worthy settlement. Though Mrs Rodd is reluctant to get involved with the scandalous world of the theatre, she cannot turn away the woman in need. She agrees to take the case.



But what starts out as a simple matter of negotiation becomes complicated when a body is discovered in the burnt husk of the old theatre. Soon Mrs Rodd finds herself embroiled in family politics, rivalries that put the Capulets and Montagues to shame, and betrayals on a Shakespearean scale.



Mrs Rodd will need all her investigative powers, not to mention her famous discretion, to solve the case before tragedy strikes once more.



Praise for the Laetitia Rodd Mystery series:



'A witty, genteel tale of secrets, lies and hidden gold... Enormous fun' The Times

'With a well-crafted plot, an engaging protagonist, and astute nods to the literature and theological squabbles of the period, this is a perfect novel for a summer afternoon' Guardian

'A Dickensian glow pervades this immensely satisfying novel. Hugely enjoyable' James Runcie, author of the 'Grantchester Mysteries'

'Pure delight' Sunday Times

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2021
19 August
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
336
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bloomsbury Publishing
SIZE
1.3
MB

More Books by Kate Saunders

Other Books in This Series