• £0.99

Publisher Description

1584: Elizabeth I rules England. But a dangerous plot is brewing in court, and Mary Queen of Scots will stop at nothing to take her cousin’s throne.

There’s only one thing standing in her way: Tom, the queen’s trusted apothecary, who makes the perfect silent spy…

2021: Travelling the globe in her campervan, Mathilde has never belonged anywhere. So when she receives news of an inheritance, she is shocked to discover she has a family in England.

Just like Mathilde, the medieval hall she inherits conceals secrets, and she quickly makes a haunting discovery. Can she unravel the truth about what happened there all those years ago? And will she finally find a place to call home?

Enchanting and gripping, The Queen’s Spy effortlessly merges past with present in an unforgettable tale of love, courage and betrayal – perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley and Kathryn Hughes.

Readers love The Queen’s Spy:

‘Clare Marchant writes and plots flawlessly.’ Carol McGrath, bestselling author of The Silken Rose

‘Clare writes beautifully and weaves the historical details into the story very skillfully to create such depth and richness. I was gripped from the start and found it an atmospheric and haunting book that will enchant anyone who loves history.’ Nicola McCornick, author of The Forgotten Sister

Reviews

Praise for Clare Marchant:

‘Emotional and intense, this is a page-turning story of secrets that echo through time’ RACHEL HORE, author of The Love Child

‘A rich and vivid historical story, The Secrets of Saffron Hall is one of those rare books that is totally engrossing. I loved it’ NICOLA CORNICK, author of The Forgotten Sister

‘The past and present is skilfully entwined in this captivating and emotional debut’ HEIDI SWAIN, author of The Secret Seaside Escape

‘Emotive, immersive and compelling, a beautiful story that captures the heart’ LIZ FENWICK, author of The Path to the Sea

‘This pulled me in and didn’t let me go: a page-turner with such historical depth and tender touch that it enchanted my heart. I adored it.’ LAURA JANE WILLIAMS, author of Our Stop

‘Intriguing and fascinating, a real insight into a turbulent time in England’s history’ KATHLEEN MCGURL, author of The Secret of the Chateau

‘An intensely gripping, emotional read, that kept me turning the pages until the early hours of the morning. An atmospheric story sure to please all fans of timeslip novels!’ CHRISTINA COURTENAY, author of Echoes of the Runes

‘A beautifully written story which pulls you in and whisks you away to another time. Clare Marchant is a fabulous new talent’ ROSIE HENDRY, author of the East End Angels series

‘A charming and engaging mystery, beautifully told’ JENNI KEER, author of The Hopes and Dreams of Lucy Baker

‘An emotionally gripping and page-turning tale of love and loss’ NATALIE MEG EVANS, author of The Paris Girl

About the author

Growing up in Surrey, Clare always dreamed of being a writer. Instead, after gaining a degree in history and an MA in women’s studies she accidentally fell into a career in IT. After spending many years as a project manager in London, she moved to Norfolk for a quieter life and trained as a professional jeweller.

Now, finally writing full-time, she lives with her husband and the youngest two of her six children.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2021
8 July
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
400
Pages
PUBLISHER
Avon
SIZE
2
MB

More Books by Clare Marchant