The Safe Place

    • 3.9 • 50 Ratings
    • £2.99
    • £2.99

Publisher Description

NO PHONES
NO OUTSIDERS
NO ESCAPE

'An exciting and compelling new voice, Anna Downes' The Safe Place is a very accomplished debut' B.A. Paris, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Dilemma

Rated 4.5 * on NetGalley, this international bestseller is perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Lesley Kara and Ruth Ware

A BEAUTIFUL HOME MIGHT HIDE DANGEROUS SECRETS

Emily Proudman has been offered the chance of a lifetime - leave her messy London life, move to a beautiful estate in France and help her boss' wife take care of their daughter, Aurelia. It seems like the perfect opportunity to start again.

But once there, Emily soon starts to suspect that her charismatic new employers aren't telling her the whole truth. That there are even dangerous secrets hidden beneath the glamourous facade.

Rather than throwing herself headlong into this oasis of wine-soaked days by the pool, Emily can't help but ask questions. Why have the family been moved to this isolated house so far from home? Why does Aurelia refuse to speak or be touched? Why are there whispers in the night?

The only problem is, the more Emily knows, the less chance there is she will ever be able to leave . . .

PRAISE FOR THE SAFE PLACE

'Tense and atmospheric with the seemingly idyllic, yet eerie, setting. A truly gripping read'
Karen Hamilton, bestselling author of The Perfect Girlfriend

'An outstanding debut. The Safe Place is destined to be a book club favourite'
Chris Hammer, award-winning author of Scrublands

'It's such a rare thing - a claustrophobic, addictive thriller that lets you actually feel for all of the characters involved'
Gytha Lodge, bestselling author of She Lies in Wait

'Compellingly disturbing. Anna Downes is a powerful story writer who will lull you into a false sense of security - and then pounce. An author to be watched'
Jane Corry, bestselling author of My Husband's Wife

'A brilliantly atmospheric novel that keeps you equally gripped and unsettled from page one. Starkly original and with an alarmingly plausible premise, this is destined to be a bestseller'
J.P. Pomare, bestselling author of Call Me Evie

'A dark and wonderful debut that lulls you in with beautiful prose and complex, believable characters, then beats you over the head with a killer plot and a thrilling climax. Everyone will be talking about this book!'
Christian White, bestselling author of The Nowhere Child

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2020
16 July
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
Hodder & Stoughton
SIZE
2.7
MB

Customer Reviews

Jsjdjdjbe ,

Very good read

I enjoyed this book quite a lot, the twist was unexpected the book did have me guessing what could possibly be so wrong which is what made the twist all the more interesting. One thing I was upset about was not being able to find out what had happened to the main character and how her life story had linked to the story of the girl. But all in all I did enjoy this book very much

BackToBook ,

The Safe Place

A fascinating read from the very start. I kept trying to work out the plot, but I was quite some way into the book before it became apparent and I was still intrigued as to how it would end. It keeps you gripped until the very last page. Cleverly thought out and very well written.

More Books by Anna Downes

2022
2022

Customers Also Bought

2020
2021
2020
2020
2018
2020