The Setup

A funny, fresh, feel-good summertime rom-com

    • 4.0 • 5 Ratings
    • £4.99
    • £4.99

Publisher Description

'Everything I wanted and then some' Emily Henry
'Packed full of nostalgia and Dent's trademark wit' Sophie Cousens

SHE HAS A PLAN . . .
FATE HAS OTHER IDEAS.
-----------------

There are two men in my life. But this is not a love triangle.


Mara Williams reads her horoscope every day - but she wasn't expecting to be in a whole other country when destiny finally found her. Just as a fortune teller reveals that her true love is about to arrive, a gorgeous stranger literally walks into her life. And now Mara is determined to bring them together again . . . Surely even fate needs a nudge in the right direction sometimes?

But while Mara is getting ready for 'the one', the universe intervenes. Her new flatmate Ash is funny, and kind, and sexy as hell . . . There was no predicting this: it's as if her destiny just arrived on her doorstep.

So will Mara put her destiny in fate's hands - or finally trust herself to reach for the stars?

*An edgy, hilarious rom-com from the author of The Summer Job. For fans of Beth O'Leary, Starstruck and New Girl.*

-----------------

'Sweet, funny, character-driven and perfect for astrology lovers'
Catherine Walsh, The Rebound

'A funny, hope-filled rom com' Lorraine Brown, The Paris Connection

'Another unconventional, fun rom-com... a heartwarming, moreish read' Lizzie Damilola Blackburn, Yinka, Where is Your Huzband?

'Smart, funny and full of warmth' Sarah Morgan, Beach House

'A total joy from start to finish' Laura Kay, Tell Me Everything

'A warm-hearted, uplifting romcom' Cressida McLouchlan, The Staycation

'Funny, quirky and full of romance, this is a perfect summer beach read!' My Weekly

'I wanted to move to fictional Broadgate... a fun, feel-good read' Prima

GENRE
Romance
RELEASED
2022
7 June
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
320
Pages
PUBLISHER
Penguin Books Ltd
SIZE
1.6
MB

Customer Reviews

Wooleejumpa ,

A good’un

Lizzy Dent's first book depicts the main female character as brimming full of confidence and charisma. In contrast, the heroine in The Setup is the total opposite, she tries to disappear into the background by wearing ugly clothing and experiences constant failures.

Mara followed her best friend Charlie to Broadgate on the Kent coast, but Charlie is fully occupied with her husband and new baby, resulting in Mara feeling lonely in her new town. In an attempt to make friends Mara takes a few classes, her one and only life drawing class was hugely embarrassing when she discovered her unpleasant boss was the model.

Mara works at the run down Art Deco lido, one day she hears a rumour that the lido is about to close and sold to developers. Mara decides to do everything in her power to keep the lido running. With the help of her colleagues, their first money making idea is a
screening of the films Jaws and Open Water at their floating-cinema at the swimming pool. Instead of frightening away the audience, this turns out to be a great success.

Running throughout the book is Mara's insistence that Joe, who she met in Budapest immediately after having her fortune told, will be her true love. She tries to start thinking positively, stop wearing drab clothing and re-invent herself into a type of woman that will attract Joe.

The plot was predictable, in a good way, all resulting in an entertaining and enjoyable read.

More Books by Lizzy Dent

2021
2022
2022

Customers Also Bought

2021
2021
2021
2022
2022
2021