The Wish List

    • 4.4 • 72 Ratings
    • £0.99
    • £0.99

Publisher Description

This Christmas, love is top of Florence Fairfax’s wish list

’Feel-good and enormous fun’ Sophie Kinsella

‘Full of wit, warmth and heart’ Beth O’Leary

‘You want me to write a list? Like a shopping list?'
'Exactly. But for what you want from a man’

Florence Fairfax might have been single for quite a while – well, forever, actually – but she isn’t lonely. She loves her job at the little bookshop in Chelsea and her beloved cat Marmalade who keeps her company at night. She’s perfectly happy, thank you.

So when Florence meets an eccentric love coach who asks her to write a wish list describing her perfect man, she refuses to take it seriously. Until later that week, Rory, a handsome blond man with the sexual athleticism of James Bond she asked for just happens to walk into the bookshop…

Rory seems to tick all of the boxes on Florence’s list. But is she about to discover there’s more to love than being perfect on paper?

A gloriously funny and feel-good read for anyone searching for their perfect match who ticks all of the boxes. Fans of Sophie Kinsella and Beth O’Leary will snort with laughter at this hilarious and heart-warming read.

***
Your favourite authors LOVE The Wish List:

’Queen of the smart rom-com. Full of wit, warmth and a truly sweet, satisfying happy ever after’ Daisy Buchanan, Insatiable

‘Funny, touching and totally addictive’ Zara Stoneley, The First Date

‘Impossibly hilarious yet hopeful and heart-warming to book’ Abbie Greaves, The Silent Treatment

‘So clever, funny and brilliantly relatable. I loved, loved loved it! Lucy Vine, Hot Mess

‘Funny and biting, I couldn’t get enough’ Laura Jane Williams, The Love Square

‘Funny and romantic. The perfect escapist read!’ Cressida McLaughlin, The Cornish Cream Tea Summer

’Whipsmart and properly funny, I laughed from the first page’ Alex Brown, A Postcard From Paris

Reviews

Praise for Sophia Money-Coutts:

‘So funny. And the sex is amazing!’ Jilly Cooper

‘Howlingly funny’ Sunday Times

‘The new Queen of rom-coms. Pacey, laugh-out-loud funny and heart-warming’ Evening Standard

‘Equally saucy and heart-warming. The Wish List will satisfy all your cravings for a fix of feel-good fiction’ Red

‘A high-spirited account of the pitfalls of looking for love, and how it can surprise you when you least expect it’ Daily Mail

‘Surprisingly saucy and distractingly funny’ Grazia

‘A laugh-a-minute page-turner’ HELLO!

A saucy, fizzing comedy – a slice of escapism’ Metro

‘Very funny and truly heartwarming, a gloriously escapist romp’ Best

‘Hilarious, emotional and relatable’ Woman’s Weekly

‘This saucy read is great sun-lounger fodder’ Heat

‘Smartly written with humour and warmth. A modern romance to savourThe Sunday Mirror

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2020
6 August
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
400
Pages
PUBLISHER
HQ
SIZE
2
MB

Customer Reviews

Swindonmum ,

Uplifting read

I’m pleased to share my review for The Wish List today. Thank you to HQ for providing a digital review copy via NetGalley – my thoughts are my own and not influenced by the gift.

Synopsis:

Be careful what you wish for…

Florence Fairfax isn’t lonely. She loves her job at the little bookshop in Chelsea and her cat, Marmalade, keeps her company at night. But everything changes when her stepsister, Mia, announces that she’s engaged to her boring golf-playing boyfriend. That’s when Florence meets Irish love coach, Gwendolyn.

…because you just might get it!

When Gwendolyn makes Florence write a wish list describing her perfect man, Florence refuses to take it seriously. Finding someone who likes cats, doesn’t wear pointy shoes and can overlook her ‘counting habit’? Impossible! Until, later that week, a handsome blond man asks for help in the bookshop…

But is Rory the one, or is he simply too good to be true? Florence is about to find out that her criteria for finding Mr Right aren’t as important as she thought – and that perhaps her perfect man has been right there all along…

My thoughts:

I enjoyed this romantic fiction book – a much needed break from anxiety inducing news and some darker novels I’ve read recently. The story is set partly in a bookshop, one which needs to move forward into the modern day and encourage people to visit it more. Florence also needs to move forward with her life – or so her family insist.

The wish list is what she creates after being sent to see a ‘love coach’ and then Rory arrives, who seems to tick many of the boxes – or does he? This is fun romantic book with some sad topics covered and some laugh out loud moments. An uplifting read for the summer of 2020.

Harecroft16a ,

Just perfect

I love Sophia’s writing it has everything, romance , humour 5 stars

More Books by Sophia Money-Coutts

2019
2018
2021
2023
2020
2023

Customers Also Bought

2020
2019
2021
2020
2020
2020