• £0.99

Publisher Description

The start of a gripping new crime thriller series introducing ex-SAS trooper Jack Tate!

Perfect for fans of James Deegan, Tom Clancy and Mark Greaney

‘Looking for breakneck pace and a relentless hero? Alex Shaw has you covered’ James Swallow 

‘Total Blackout gripped from page one and didn’t let go’ Stephen Leather

Don’t miss the explosive start to the Jack Tate series.

When the lights go out…
British MI6 agent, and former SAS trooper, Jack Tate is trying to escape his past when he witnesses a terrorist attack of unthinkable scale. An electro-magnetic pulse knocks out the US power grid, killing anything with a computer processor, throwing the whole country into darkness.

You have to escape the past.
Under the cover of the blackout, a clandestine operation aims to assassinate prominent public figures on US soil. Looting and violence spreads across the country. And Jack Tate’s past comes back to haunt him. As the only intelligence operative on the ground, he is hurled into a mission that will put him – and the people he loves – in immediate danger.

You have to defeat the enemy.
With the fate of the United States on the line, only he can prevent the horror of a new world war.

Perfect for fans of James Deegan, Tom Clancy and Mark Greaney, this is an explosive action thriller you won’t be able to put down.

‘Compelling and authentic. An explosive new series with an uncompromising hero’ Tom Wood

‘Jack Tate is a powerful character, a true Brit hero. A cracking start to a new series!’ Alan McDermott

‘Alex Shaw is a master of the action thriller. Grabbed me from the first page and never let go’ Michael Ridpath

‘Riveting thriller with an original plot and surprising twists. Tate is totally convincing as a classic Brit operative.  Great drama and characterisation’ Duncan Falconer

Reviews

‘Looking for breakneck pace and a relentless hero? Alex Shaw has you covered’ James Swallow 

‘Alex Shaw is one of the best thriller writers around! Fast paced, Total Blackout gripped from page one and didn’t let go … as fast as a Hollywood movie’ Stephen Leather

‘Compelling and authentic. An explosive new series with an uncompromising hero’ Tom Wood

‘A perfect mix of hi-tech, high-concept modern action thriller and old school, Cold War espionage where evil Russians are still plotting the downfall of the West and only one man can stop them’ Simon Toyne

‘Jack Tate is a powerful character, a true Brit hero. A cracking start to a new series!’ Alan McDermott

‘Alex Shaw is a master of the action thriller. Grabbed me from the first page and never let go’ Michael Ridpath

‘Riveting thriller with an original plot and surprising twists. Tate is totally convincing as a classic Brit operative.  Great drama and characterisation’ Duncan Falconer

Praise for Alex Shaw:

‘An ice-cold operative in a red-hot adventure’ Stephen Leather

‘Sizzles across the page like a flame on a short fuse!’ Matt Hilton

‘A perfect blend of spy fiction and political thriller’ Matt Lynn

Readers love the Aidan Snow books:

‘A superb, pulse-racing read’ Online reviewer

‘Exciting and fast-paced’ Online reviewer

‘Immensely enjoyable and tightly written’ Online reviewer

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2020
September 25
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
HQ Digital
SIZE
3
MB

Customer Reviews

Riverdaffyd ,

Excellent Page Turner

An exciting, and sometimes scary story. It is frightening to think that with modern technology an event like this could actually happen. The mistake the enemy makes is to try and avenge old lost battles, because it gives the others that extra little bit of time they need.

Jack Tate is on a much-needed holiday. He has flown to America and rented a car for a month. It is pretty huge as the rental company had run out of smaller vehicles, so he has a black Tahoe SUV. He is planning to see some sights, and end up in Washington to spend some time with his foster-brother Simon Hunter, who works at the British Embassy. He begins his sightseeing in Camden, Maine, to see how it differs from Camden, London, where he was brought up; and gets pulled up by the police, ostensibly for speeding. But something is up, the policemen handcuff him and take him to the police station but they do not read him his rights. It turns out there has been a murder and a car similar to his seen close by. He is interviewed by the Chief of Police who eventually realises that he is (or was) SAS, and could be of some use to the investigation. Very early the next morning terrorists flying over Washington DC release an Electro Magnetic Pulse bomb (EMP) which took out almost every electronic article in the whole of America plus parts of Canada and Mexico. Most modern cars, tills, hospital equipment, kitchen equipment, alarms, phone systems, nothing works. So there is little chance of calling for assistance.

And so begins an excellent thriller. Jack initially assists Chief Donoghue with searching for the killer, who has struck again; then again, all seemingly unrelated. He eventually hears that Simon is missing, presumed kidnapped; so he sets off for Washington, using various forms of transport, some very old and some modified by the terrorists. He captures one of the terrorists, who is not a killer, and he is more than happy to tell Jack what he knows, which isn’t actually very much about the terrorists and why they are killing seemingly random people. Jack is lucky to find a single policeman, Chang, who helps him in the final battle at a quiet airport where the terrorists are meeting back from their various missions, to return home. His support provides Jack with a few elements of surprise, and gains him a valuable few seconds of time to rescue Simon and deal with the bd guys.

As one would expect there is quite a lot of brutality involved, but also some chivalric behaviour - even terrorists who are paid for their services have lines they will not cross! The plot is well thought through, and a real page-turner. I will be very happy to read more by this author.

More Books by Alex Shaw

Other Books in This Series