• £3.99

Publisher Description

No crime will go unpunished

It is the near future. A zero tolerance policy results in the death penalty for all crimes, no matter how minor.

When a judge is kidnapped, and a ransom note demands the release of all prisoners awaiting execution, kleptomaniac Detective Inspector Kate Swansonis put on the case.

But soon her boss also disappears. Under increasing pressure from her superiors, and caught between the security services and the growing social unrest, Swanson must race to find a man whose murdered wife and daughter link the missing men.

Can she find him before it’s too late?

With a dystopian twist on the police procedural, Zero is an unputdownable and atmospheric thriller. The first in a powerful new series from Matt Brolly for fans of Angela Marsons and Robert Bryndza or Minority Report and Blade Runner.

Look out for the new DCI Lambert coming early 2017.

Praise for Matt Brolly

‘I would never have guessed that this is a debut novel… Dead Eyed is such an enjoyable read. Tense, dark and with quite a grip, I can't wait for the next.’ For Winter Nights – A Bookish Blog (Top 500 Amazon Reviewer)

‘Action packed, dramatic and addictive… an unputdownable read.’ Portybelle

One word for this – riveting. Fast paced, full of twisty goodness, a well-drawn and intriguing main protagonist and a well-constructed and horrifically addictive storyline.’ Liz Loves Books

‘An extraordinary fast-paced, tense thriller, taking the reader on an suspense filled journey with so many twist and turns it is a stupendous, emotional roller coaster ride!’ SplashesIntoBooks

‘A must read for all lovers of crime books’ CrimeBookLover

One of my books of the year… I was blown away by Mr Brolly's plotting and gripping writing style.’ Elaine (Top 1000 Amazon Reviewer)

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2016
November 21
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
373
Pages
PUBLISHER
Canelo
SIZE
766.5
KB

Customer Reviews

DR - Cornwall ,

Another great read!

Having read the first and second novels by Matt Brolly I was excited when the third book, Zero, was published. I found the previous books fast paced, with believable characters, that were easy to identify with and made it so hard to put them down.
Zero was a complete change of tack; crime related but set in a dystopian society. Slightly dubious at first, I quickly lost myself in a brilliantly written, totally absorbing world.
I thoroughly enjoyed this book, although it cleverly led along a path that made me look to my own values as the story evolved.
I anticipate more books from this author and await them impatiently.
Please don't keep us waiting long!

Stevencrane ,

Crime drama with a difference

The sci-fi element gave this book a different slant on the standard detective story.
I enjoyed it & will certainly try another by this author.

ac-london ,

Gripping new thriller... a must read!

After reading this author's previous books,Dead Eyed and Dead Lucky, I was really looking forward to the new offering by Matt Brolly, Zero.

The book introduces us to a dystopian world where a zero tolerance policy exists and anyone found guilty of a crime, no matter how small, is punishable by death.

The story starts with the kidnapping of a judge and the demand for the release of all prisoners awaiting their fate. Right from the first chapter you are hooked and want to know how both the story and characters, Detective Inspector Kate Swanson and her partner DS Joseph Keane, unfold.

I really enjoyed the book as a whole. The characters held my interest from the start and were easy to relate to. You have all the twists and turns of a good crime thriller, and coupled with the excellent writing skills of the author I would not hesitate to recommend this book.

Looking forward to the next one in the series already!

More Books by Matt Brolly