The Orphan of Ironbridge

An emotional and heartwarming family saga

    • 11,99 €
    • 11,99 €

Descrizione dell’editore

A dramatic and heartwarming Victorian saga, perfect for fans of Maggie Hope and Anne Bennett.

Shropshire, 1875.

Hettie Jones has grown up in Ironbridge. She has never known her father and, since her mother's death, has been brought up by the Malone family, who treat her as one of their own. She works as a pit girl at the local coal mine, alongside her childhood playfellow, Evan - although lately, their friendship seems to be blossoming into something more.

But when Queenie King takes a fancy to her, Hettie's life is transformed. Trained first as a lady's maid, and then hurtled into a world of luxury and gentility, she finds her new position difficult to reconcile with her past life. And with Queenie's daughter-in-law scheming against her, Hettie's situation becomes dire.

Can Hettie really use her new position for good, and will she find a way to bridge the divide between rich and poor?


'A compelling blend of real history, rich period detail, and a gritty, authentic story brimming with love, loss, intrigue, hope, and bitter revenge, The Orphan of Ironbridge delivers a dramatic final chapter to this exciting trilogy.' Lancashire Evening Post


Praise for The Daughters of Ironbridge:

'A Journey. Compelling. Addictive.' Val Wood

'Evocative, dramatic and hugely compelling . . . The Daughters of Ironbridge has all the hallmarks of a classic saga. I loved it' Miranda Dickinson

'Feisty female characters, an atmospheric setting and a spell-binding storyline make this a phenomenal read' Cathy Bramley

'The Daughters of Ironbridge has that compulsive, page-turning quality, irresistible characters the reader gets hugely invested in, and Walton has created a brilliantly alive, vivid and breathing world in Ironbridge' Louisa Treger

'Such great characters who will stay with me for a long time' Beth Miller

'The attention to period detail and beautiful writing drew me right in and kept me reading' Lynne Francis

'Vivid, page-turning drama' Pippa Beecheno

'A powerful sense of place and period, compelling characters and a pacy plot had me racing to the end' Gill Paul

'A story that is vivid, twisting and pacy, with characters that absolutely leap off the page' Iona Grey

'Beautiful and poignant. I'll definitely be reading The Secrets of Ironbridge' Tania Crosse

GENERE
Narrativa e letteratura
PUBBLICATO
2021
15 aprile
LINGUA
EN
Inglese
PAGINE
400
EDITORE
Bonnier Publishing Fiction
DIMENSIONE
1,8
MB

Altri libri di Mollie Walton

2022
2020
2019

Altri hanno acquistato

2020
2020
2022
2022
2020
2012