The Promise of the Pelican The Promise of the Pelican

The Promise of the Pelican

A Novel

    • $31.99
    • $31.99

Publisher Description

For fans of Harper Lee and Rita Mae Brown, Roy Hoffman's new novel is steeped in a sense of place--coastal Alabama--with its rich tapestry of characters caught in a web of justice not for all.

Early Praise for The Promise of the Pelican:

"Roy Hoffman has written a fast-paced, mesmerizing and incredibly moving contemporary novel about human and civil rights,"-- bestselling author Lee Smith

"A thrilling novel, with characters as memorable as those of Shakespearean tragedy...I could not put it down." --Sena Jeter Naslund, author of Ahab's Wife  


At once a literary crime novel and an intergenerational family drama, The Promise of the Pelican is set in the multicultural South, where justice might depend on the color of your skin and your immigration status. Hank Weinberg is a modern day Atticus Finch, recently retired as a defense attorney in Mobile, Alabama, and a Holocaust survivor, who fled the Nazis as a young child. With his daughter in rehab, he's now taking care of his special needs grandson. Mourning his dead wife, spending mornings fishing on the pier with other octogenarians, he passes the rest of his days watching over his sweet grandson with the help of Lupita, a young Honduran babysitter. When her brother Julio, an undocumented immigrant, is accused of murder, Hank must return to the courtroom to defend him while also trying to save his daughter and grandson's life from spinning out of control. The Promise of the Pelican takes its title from the legend that a pelican will pierce its own breast for blood to feed its starving chicks, a metaphor for one old man who risks all to save the vulnerable.

In a crisp prose style Harper Lee called "lean and clean," Hoffman writes from an enormous well of compassion. He fills his new novel with a cast of finely drawn characters of all ages and abilities facing life's harshest challenges and rising to meet them with dignity.
 

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2022
15 March
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
312
Pages
PUBLISHER
Arcade Crimewise
SELLER
Simon and Schuster Australia Pty Ltd.
SIZE
2.2
MB

More Books Like This

The Innocents The Innocents
2016
Havana Lost Havana Lost
2013
Cold-Blooded Cold-Blooded
2015
A Song for Drowned Souls A Song for Drowned Souls
2015
Frank Herbert: Unpublished Stories Frank Herbert: Unpublished Stories
2016
A World of Curiosities A World of Curiosities
2022

More Books by Roy Hoffman

Almost Family Almost Family
2018
Come Landfall Come Landfall
2014
Alabama Afternoons Alabama Afternoons
2011