• 22,99 lei

Publisher Description

Let much loved author Patricia Burns transport you to another time in this saga which brilliantly brings together characters from all walks of life whose lives centre around one much loved department store. Fans of Dilly Court, Rosie Goodwin and Josephine Cox will not be disappointed...

READERS ARE LOVING PACKARDS!


'I could hardly bear to put my kindle down until I had read the final chapter!' - Loving
'One of the best books I have read for a long time'-- ***** Reader review
'Another excellent read - couldn't put it down' -- ***** Reader review
'Loved it' -- ***** Reader review
*******************************************************************************
A SWEEPING STORY OF SOCIETY, SOPHISTICATION, SEDUCTION, SUCCESSION...AND SHOPPING

1908
: Sir Thomas Packard is seeking a successor to take on the management of Packards - the Oxford Street department store he founded in the mid-nineteenth century. His only daughter and her feckless husband spend his fortune but despise its provenance so he looks to his grandchildren:

EDWARD has all his grandfather's ruthlessness but none of his vision;
PERRY is a good-time boy;
AMELIE, intelligent and ambitious, is willing to take anyone on to gain control of the store.

Alongside their story is that of Packards employees:
DAISY CHAPMAN, thrilled to have found an escape from East End drudgery; skilled and promotable but forced to choose between love and her job;
ISOBEL NORTON who has fled from her brother-in-law's advances to make a new life for herself;
JOHNNY MILLER, loved by Isobel and in love with Daisy.

Together, their stories combine to create a sweeping absorbing vision of a cross-section of society in the early years of the century.

Find out what lies next in store for Packards in Goodbye Piccadilly: Packards at War...

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2013
31 March
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
416
Pages
PUBLISHER
Random House
SIZE
1.4
MB

More Books by Patricia Burns

2019
2015
2014
2014
2013
2012