Book of Night

    • 3.9 • 51 Ratings
    • $16.99

    • $16.99

Publisher Description

"Award-winning YA author Holly Black has created an imaginary masterpiece yet again with her first foray into adult fantasy, narrated with perfection by Sara Amini." -AudioFile (Earphones Award Winner)

In the vein of Neil Gaiman and Erin Morgenstern, #1 NYT bestselling author Holly Black’s stunning new audiobook is a dark fantasy of betrayals and cabals with a dissolute thief of shadows at the center of it all.

Charlie Hall has never found a lock she couldn’t pick, a book she couldn’t steal, or a bad decision she wouldn’t make.

She's spent half her life working for gloamists, magicians who manipulate shadows to peer into locked rooms, strangle people in their beds, or worse. Gloamists guard their secrets greedily, creating an underground economy of grimoires. And to rob their fellow magicians, they need Charlie Hall.

Now, she’s trying to distance herself from past mistakes, but getting out isn’t easy. Bartending at a dive, she’s still entirely too close to the corrupt underbelly of the Berkshires. Not to mention that her sister Posey is desperate for magic, and that Charlie's shadowless, and possibly soulless, boyfriend has been hiding things from her. When a terrible figure from her past returns, Charlie descends into a maelstrom of murder and lies.

Determined to survive, she’s up against a cast of doppelgangers, mercurial billionaires, gloamists, and the people she loves best in the world—all trying to steal a secret that will give them vast and terrible power

"Dark, strange, thick with mystery and twists—a story so believable in its magic, you'll be keeping one eye on your shadow as you turn the pages." —Leigh Bardugo, New York Times bestselling author of Ninth House

"If Neil Gaiman channeled Stephen King, the result might be this book...scintillating prose, whiplash twists, and a voice of character that demands to be heard from again.”— ames Rollins, New York Times bestselling author of The Starless Crown

“Heart, soul, and a bit of kink—The Book of Night is smart, decadent fun.”—Kelly Link, Pulitzer Prize Finalist


A Macmillan Audio production from Tor Books.

GENRE
Sci-Fi & Fantasy
NARRATOR
SA
Sara Amini
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
12:33
hr min
RELEASED
2022
May 3
PUBLISHER
Macmillan Audio
SIZE
779.2
MB

Customer Reviews

lost sinn ,

Storytelling at its best

I almost hesitated to listen to “The Book of Night”. I am so glad I did not let a few lack luster reviews sway me. Black’s adult debut is Beautifully written and well Narrated. She plays with desire, shame, guilt and love to create a world where very little is what it seems. Trying desperately to break free of their pasts, the main characters skirt along the edges of a dark underbelly of shadow magic, which has only recently become public knowledge.

dancing in violets ,

Another please

I really like the character Charlie Hall. I like the balance of action with internal struggles. I hope there is a sequel to this one

Listeners Also Bought

2020
2023
2015
2018
2013
2019