• $17.99

Publisher Description

Toasted crumpets, a country house…and a curious murder?

Sukey Reynolds is invited to an evening at her local library to hear Jennifer Cottrell, a noted novelist, speak about her latest book. But instead of an interesting event attended by the author’s fans, a woman in the audience, Wendy Downie, accuses Jennifer of killing her lover. Before a shocked Sukey can go after her, she flees into the night. The very next day, Jennifer is found dead....

The police chase after Wendy, convinced she must have attacked Jennifer. But they find that she too has been killed - in the grounds of Jennifer’s beautiful manor. Why was she at Jennifer’s house? Are all of their suspects going to disappear? 

With the police running around in circles, Sukey decides to do some sleuthing on her own. Looking closely at Jennifer’s household and acquaintances, Sukey wonders who could have wanted her dead? The homely housekeeper, the gloomy groundsman, or the secretive secretary? 

A dog’s lead and a pair of dirty boots direct Sukey to the truth, but will she be able to let her detective colleagues know who the culprit is, before the devious villain realises they’ve been rumbled? 

A murder mystery for fans of P.D. James, Faith Martin, and Joy Ellis from the queen of cozy crime.

This book was previously published as Smokescreen.

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
NARRATOR
TK
Tamsin Kennard
LENGTH
07:31
hr min
RELEASED
2019
September 4
PUBLISHER
Hachette UK - Bookouture
PRESENTED BY
Audible.com
LANGUAGE
EN
English
SIZE
392.2
MB

Listeners Also Bought