Mozart in the Jungle: Sex, Drugs, and Classical Music (Unabridged‪)‬

    • 4.4 • 5 Ratings
    • $21.99

    • $21.99

Publisher Description

In the tradition of Anthony Bourdain's Kitchen Confidential and Gelsey Kirkland's Dancing on My Grave, Mozart in the Jungle delves into the lives of the musicians and conductors who inhabit the insular world of classical music.

In a book that inspired the Amazon original series starring Gael Garcia Bernal and Malcolm McDowell, oboist Blair Tindall recounts her decades-long professional career as a classical musician, from the recitals and Broadway orchestra performances to the secret life of musicians who survive hand to mouth in the backbiting New York classical music scene, trading sexual favors for plum jobs and assignments in orchestras across the city. Tindall and her fellow journeymen musicians often play drunk, high, or hopelessly hungover, live in decrepit apartments, and perform in hazardous conditions. These are working-class musicians who schlep across the city between low-paying gigs, without health-care benefits or retirement plans - a stark contrast to the rarefied experiences of overpaid classical musician superstars.

An incisive, no-holds-barred account, Mozart in the Jungle is the first true, behind-the-scenes look at what goes on backstage and in the Broadway pit.

GENRE
Biographies & Memoirs
NARRATOR
AR
Amanda Ronconi
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
12:23
hr min
RELEASED
2015
March 31
PUBLISHER
Audible Studios
PRESENTED BY
Audible.com
SIZE
596.9
MB

Listeners Also Bought

2017
2017
2006
2013
2012
2013