Roses, in the Mouth of a Lion Roses, in the Mouth of a Lion

Roses, in the Mouth of a Lion

    • $19.99

    • $19.99

Publisher Description

This program is read by the author.

For fans of On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous and My Brilliant Friend, an unforgettable story about female friendship and queer love in a Muslim-American community

"I LOVED EVERY MOMENT." —Karen Russell, author of Swamplandia!

"Bushra Rehman performs her novel of a queer Pakistani American girl who is coming of age in the 1980s and '90s. As Razia begins rebelling in small ways, Rehman adds a layer of emotional intimacy to Razia's conflicted feelings. "- AudioFile

"The lush and poetic descriptions of the setting and culture serve as a love letter to the Pakistani American community and to Queens, with the audiobook elevated by Rehman’s finely tuned narration."- Library Journal

Razia Mirza grows up amid the wild grape vines and backyard sunflowers of Corona, Queens, with her best friend, Saima, by her side. When a family rift drives the girls apart, Razia’s heart is broken. She finds solace in Taslima, a new girl in her close-knit Pakistani-American community. They embark on a series of small rebellions: listening to scandalous music, wearing miniskirts, and cutting school to explore the city.

When Razia is accepted to Stuyvesant, a prestigious high school in Manhattan, the gulf between the person she is and the daughter her parents want her to be, widens. At Stuyvesant, Razia meets Angela and is attracted to her in a way that blossoms into a new understanding. When their relationship is discovered by an Aunty in the community, Razia must choose between her family and her own future.

Punctuated by both joy and loss, full of ’80s music and beloved novels, Roses, in the Mouth of a Lion is a new classic: a fiercely compassionate coming-of-age story of a girl struggling to reconcile her heritage and faith with her desire to be true to herself.

A Macmillan Audio production from Flatiron Books.

GENRE
Fiction
NARRATOR
BR
Bushra Rehman
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
09:22
hr min
RELEASED
2022
December 6
PUBLISHER
Macmillan Audio
SIZE
575.7
MB

Listeners Also Bought

Lessons in Chemistry: A Novel (Unabridged) Lessons in Chemistry: A Novel (Unabridged)
2022
Where the Crawdads Sing: Reese's Book Club (A Novel) (Unabridged) Where the Crawdads Sing: Reese's Book Club (A Novel) (Unabridged)
2018
Becoming (Unabridged) Becoming (Unabridged)
2018
It Ends with Us (Unabridged) It Ends with Us (Unabridged)
2016