The Cold Vanish

    • 3.2 • 17 Ratings
    • $19.99

    • $19.99

Publisher Description

Perfect for readers of Jon Krakauer and Douglas Preston, this "authentic and encyclopedic" book examines real-life cases of those who vanish in the wilderness without a trace (Roman Dial)—and those eccentric, determined characters who try to find them.
 These are the stories that defy conventional logic. The proverbial vanished without a trace incidences, which happen a lot more (and a lot closer to your backyard) than almost anyone thinks. These are the missing whose situations are the hardest on loved ones left behind. The cases that are an embarrassment for park superintendents, rangers and law enforcement charged with Search & Rescue. The ones that baffle the volunteers who comb the mountains, woods and badlands. The stories that should give you pause every time you venture outdoors. Through Jacob Gray's disappearance in Olympic National Park, and his father Randy Gray who left his life to search for him, we will learn about what happens when someone goes missing. Braided around the core will be the stories of the characters who fill the vacuum created by a vanished human being. We'll meet eccentric bloodhound-handler Duff and R.C., his flagship purebred, who began trailing with the family dog after his brother vanished in the San Gabriel Mountains. And there's Michael Neiger North America's foremost backcountry Search & Rescue expert and self-described "bushman" obsessed with missing persons. And top researcher of persons missing on public wildlands Ex-San Jose, California detective David Paulides who is also one of the world's foremost Bigfoot researchers. It's a tricky thing to write about missing persons because the story is the absence of someone. A void. The person at the heart of the story is thinner than a smoke ring, invisible as someone else's memory. The bones you dig up are most often metaphorical. While much of the book will embrace memory and faulty memory—history—The Cold Vanish is at its core a story of now and tomorrow. Someone will vanish in the wild tomorrow. These are the people who will go looking.

GENRE
Nonfiction
NARRATOR
SG
Stephen Graybill
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
11:36
hr min
RELEASED
2020
July 7
PUBLISHER
Hachette Audio
SIZE
576
MB

Customer Reviews

Olympicmichael ,

Meh

Good book, but totally lost interest when the author can’t resist tying in racism and other woke diatribe into an entertaining missing persons book. Is it like a mandatory thing in all media publications to literally tie in everything to racist wyte pipo?

Melody Joy ,

So repetitive. So full of itself and of useless information.

Dear Diary: Two chapters in and between the robotic delivery of the narrator and the ENDLESS spewing of absolutely nothing but the same thing over and over. I want my money back. I want this time back. The author is a note-taker, and manages to go in circles like a fruitless search.

Listeners Also Bought

2016
2006
2020
2019
2013
2019