The Long Weekend

    • 4.0 • 27 Ratings
    • $14.99

    • $14.99

Publisher Description

“Twisty, dark, and packs a punch. . . . Gripping and genuinely nail-biting.” — Sarah Pearse, New York Times bestselling author of The Sanatorium

In this pulse-pounding thriller from the New York Times bestselling author of The Nanny, a group of women travel to the most remote place in England for a weekend escape, only to discover a startling note that one of their husbands will be killed before they return home. Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Lucy Foley.

Three couples

Two bodies

One secret

Dark Fell Barn is a “perfectly isolated” retreat, or so says its website when Jayne books a reservation for her friends. A quiet place, far removed from the rest of the world, is exactly what they need.

The women arrive for a girls’ night ahead of their husbands. There’s ex-Army Jayne, hardened and serious, but also damaged. Ruth, the driven doctor and new mother who is battling demons of her own. Young Emily, just wed and insecure, the newest addition of this tight-knit band. Missing this year is Edie, who was the glue holding them together, until her husband died suddenly.

But what they hoped would be a relaxing break soon turns to horror. Upon arrival at Dark Fell Barn, the women find a devastating note claiming one of their husbands will be murdered. There are no phones, no cell service to check on their men. Friendships fracture as the situation spins wildly out of control. Betrayal can come in many forms.

This group has kept each other’s secrets for far too long.

"Fast-paced and incredibly compelling . . . this book will not let you put it down." — Shari Lapena, New York Times bestselling author of The Couple Next Door

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
NARRATOR
OP
Olivia Poulet
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
08:50
hr min
RELEASED
2022
March 29
PUBLISHER
HarperAudio
SIZE
437.2
MB

Customer Reviews

christelcatbittencat ,

What A Letdown

This book oozed potential.
A super interesting and original set up, a creepy location with interesting characters.
The problem is that a) there are far too many characters to keep up with
b) the narrator reads as if she is just trying to get through it as quickly as possible.
She doesn’t even take a breath between scenes, chapters.
It makes the listener’s head spin.
All of the characters sound exactly the same, there is never an indication that a new character is now speaking.
So it reads long one long run on sentence , no pauses, no emotional investment or inflection. Ever.
I wanted to love this book so badly that I stuck it out, despite my discontentment.
I just found myself shocked over and over again as scenes would play out and nothing, absolutely nothing changed as far as the performance was concerned.
How did anyone approve this as an acceptable rendition of this story???
Also, why is it that not one of these characters is DEVELOPED.
The reader is never, ever given any detail or insight as to what type of human being each character is, not even what they look like.
Also, how is it that we have this fabulously spooky location but never, not once is there a description of the place? With the minor exception of a character or two mentioning that it’s “cramped” There is not a single atmospheric detail, absolutely no point at which “the stage is set” for the reader???
Was there a publisher putting pressure on the author to simply “get it done” or something?
I am shocked by this book.
Shockingly disappointed, shocked that such little effort was made, and especially flabbergasted that this speed reading narration made it past the editors.
It’s honestly kind of insulting.
These books are expensive!
And essentially this book is one long rip off moving at the speed of a bullet train.
It made me sad. Is this what it’s come to?
There is no way to keep up with what’s happening, it is rushed and read through with such speed that I even tried slowing it down to 1/4 but then the narrator just sounded possessed.
I love this author, but I have learned a lesson here…you must listen to the sample offered before purchasing.
If I had done this I would have realized immediately that there would be no way to enjoy this book.
It is one of the most disappointing audiobooks I’ve ever bought.
Namely because I love the author and the story itself, the premise was chock full of potential that is totally squandered within the first chapter…
I hate leaving negative reviews, especially when it’s an author I love.
But this was a joke.
A total letdown in every way.
And frankly just downright silly!
I can’t believe my beloved Gilly signed off on this…
Maybe the hardcover or hard copy would’ve been more pleasant but nothing could save this rushed, compressed nonsense.
It’s too bad.
I will never buy another book without listening well to the sample.
Unhappy face 😞😞😞

Listeners Also Bought

2020
2019
2022
2019
2022
2021