The Long Weekend

A Novel

    • 4.0 • 103 Ratings
    • $14.99
    • $14.99

Publisher Description

“Twisty, dark, and packs a punch. . . . Gripping and genuinely nail-biting.” — Sarah Pearse, New York Times bestselling author of The Sanatorium

In this pulse-pounding thriller from the New York Times bestselling author of The Nanny, a group of women travel to the most remote place in England for a weekend escape, only to discover a startling note that one of their husbands will be killed before they return home. Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Lucy Foley.

Three couples

Two bodies

One secret

Dark Fell Barn is a “perfectly isolated” retreat, or so says its website when Jayne books a reservation for her friends. A quiet place, far removed from the rest of the world, is exactly what they need.

The women arrive for a girls’ night ahead of their husbands. There’s ex-Army Jayne, hardened and serious, but also damaged. Ruth, the driven doctor and new mother who is battling demons of her own. Young Emily, just wed and insecure, the newest addition of this tight-knit band. Missing this year is Edie, who was the glue holding them together, until her husband died suddenly.

But what they hoped would be a relaxing break soon turns to horror. Upon arrival at Dark Fell Barn, the women find a devastating note claiming one of their husbands will be murdered. There are no phones, no cell service to check on their men. Friendships fracture as the situation spins wildly out of control. Betrayal can come in many forms.

This group has kept each other’s secrets for far too long.

"Fast-paced and incredibly compelling . . . this book will not let you put it down." — Shari Lapena, New York Times bestselling author of The Couple Next Door

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2022
March 29
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
William Morrow
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
3
MB

Customer Reviews

LiquidCrystals ,

Good but sad

Story was definitely a good one. Every time I thought I had something figured out, I’d end up being wrong. Twists right til the end. Not a ton of dialogue, mostly narration, which did make me kind of zone out a few times, but still super interesting overall. I will say, the villain, whom you’re introduced to fairly early on, is pretty unlikeable - as villains should be, of course. It seriously……..this individual will make you want to reach through the book and choke them! LOL Overall, I enjoyed it and will explore other offerings from this author.

Artymusician ,

The Long Weekend

I thought the narrator was one character but then realized s/he was another character. It was disconcerting. None of the characters was very likable. The narrator psychopath is a serial killer, and fits in with his/her weird group of friends from university days. All of the friends and their wives Edie (cruel practical joker and femme fatale) Emily ( insecure gold digger with older Paul), Ruth (new mother and alcoholic). and Jayne ( suffering from dissociative disorder and guilt from military killings) were off, maybe needed help from Broadmoor psychiatrists as well as killer. Students and professors (Paul) in the same group with only one woman (Edie) seemed weird. Questions remained about Imogene’s paternity. Jayne and Jane used interchangeably: poor editing? John’s suicide thrown into the story was a strange surprise. What is the point of the story? The long weekend all orchestrated by the psychopath to kill others to keep his/ her secret and kidnap Imogene? Was Toby or Paul the father? Emily was just a few years older than Imogene. Strange.

More Books by Gilly MacMillan

2015
2016
2019
2018
2020
2017

Customers Also Bought

2022
2022
2021
2020
2022
2022