A Deadly Chapter

A Castle Bookshop Mystery

    • 4.5 • 2 Ratings
    • $13.99
    • $13.99

Publisher Description

Thousand Islands bookseller Shelby Cox is caught between a lethal rock and a hardheaded newcomer in Essie Lang's third Castle Bookshop mystery, a must-read for fans of Lorna Barrett and Vicki Delany.

Wake up on a houseboat, moored in scenic Alexandria Bay, New York. Ride the gentle waves to work at quaint Bayside Books, where you spend your days supplying literature and conversation to the charming locals and seasonal tourists. Sounds pleasant, doesn't it? Except bookseller Shelby Cox has already sleuthed two murders from Bayside Books's home base on Blye Island, one of New York State's famed Thousand Islands. And this time, mayhem knocks right on Shelby's waterside door when she finds a body lodged between the side of her houseboat and the dock, his skull shattered.

The victim is no local, but Shelby can't shake the feeling she's seen him before. Twice, in fact--that's how many times he's dropped into Bayside Books asking about an enigmatic woman who lived on Blye Island many years before. The last time? The day before he was found. But the poor man obviously was killed elsewhere, so who brought him down to the bay, and why?

When the victim's daughter hits town demanding answers, Shelby takes the case, despite Police Chief Tekla Stone's usual reservations. But she uncovers more suspects than there are pages in War and Peace, and Shelby can expect no peace--except the peace of the grave--unless she can turn the page on this grisly mystery.

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2021
March 9
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
320
Pages
PUBLISHER
CROOKED LANE BOOKS
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
1.9
MB

More Books by Essie Lang

2019
2020

Customers Also Bought

2021
2021
2022
2021
2021
2022

Other Books in This Series

2019
2020