Reading Between the Crimes Reading Between the Crimes
Book 2 - A Jane Doe Book Club Mystery

Reading Between the Crimes

    • 4.6 • 8 Ratings
    • $16.99
    • $16.99

Publisher Description

Perfect for fans of Ellery Adams and Kate Carlisle, the members of the Jane Doe Book Club are on the case as Kate Young's peachy-keen Georgia-set mystery series comes back for seconds.

What better time than Halloween to dig into a bracing discussion of a diabolical murder mystery? And what better choice for the Jane Doe Book Club than Agatha Christie's Crooked House? Lyla Moody and her friends are soon embroiled in debate over whether the heroine's actions are particularly believable. But not long after the meeting, sleepy Sweet Mountain, Georgia, is rocked by a murder that uncannily echoes the novel in question.

When Lyla and her grandmother arrive at the charity event that Lyla's mother is hosting, they barely have time to hang up their fall jackets before they stumble upon a body in the library. Leonard Richardson, it seems, was robbed and then hit over the head with a brass candlestick--which throws suspicion on Harper Richardson, his young widow and a friend of the Jane Does.

Lyla and the rest of the Jane Does pool their prodigious intellects to clear Harper's name. Peculiarly, all of the clues seem to have been lifted directly from the plot of Crooked House. But as Lyla probes the pages of Christie's classic whodunnit for hints on catching the killer, she uncovers secrets from her mother's past--secrets that suggest that Lyla's own house may be crooked as well.

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2021
September 7
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
336
Pages
PUBLISHER
CROOKED LANE BOOKS
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
1.8
MB

Customer Reviews

TextinMom ,

Mixed Feelings on this One

Excellent story with plenty of twists and turns. Lovable, multi-generational characters that I really enjoyed getting to know. Creep factor was high when it needed to be. I think I need to read the first book to catch up on a couple of the character dynamics but the upside is that there weren’t any spoilers from it. I will say that the main heroine comes across as a little cold in her personal relationships. It didn’t really fit with her overall personality and was somewhat off-putting.

One major dislike I had was regarding a line where the main PI is accused of being misogynistic which I didn’t see at all. I didn’t feel as though he was prejudiced against women, merely protective of his family in a given instance and he had previously shown support and confidence in the same character who made the accusation. On its own, it wouldn’t have stood out but adding it to the cold vibe I got in interactions with other characters, it left a sour taste in my mouth. I will definitely give the series more chances but it didn’t hit my must-read list.

There were a lot of typos and grammatical issues but I put that down to it being an ARC.

Thank you to NetGalley, Crooked Lane Books, and Kate Young for giving me the opportunity to read and share my honest thoughts and opinions about the story.

More Books Like This

Southern Sass and a Battered Bride Southern Sass and a Battered Bride
2021
Southern Sass and Killer Cravings Southern Sass and Killer Cravings
2019
Hexes and Hijinks Hexes and Hijinks
2023
Southern Sass and a Crispy Corpse Southern Sass and a Crispy Corpse
2020
Covenant Hall Covenant Hall
2009
Thirty-Four and a Half Predicaments Thirty-Four and a Half Predicaments
2015

More Books by Kate Young

On Borrowed Crime On Borrowed Crime
2020
Southern Sass and Killer Cravings Southern Sass and Killer Cravings
2019
Southern Sass and a Crispy Corpse Southern Sass and a Crispy Corpse
2020
Southern Sass and a Battered Bride Southern Sass and a Battered Bride
2021
Crime for the Books Crime for the Books
2022
The Little Library Year The Little Library Year
2019

Customers Also Bought

Once Upon a Seaside Murder Once Upon a Seaside Murder
2021
Murder by the Bookend Murder by the Bookend
2021
A Deadly Chapter A Deadly Chapter
2021
Bound By Murder Bound By Murder
2022
Caught on the Book Caught on the Book
2023
Long Overdue at the Lakeside Library Long Overdue at the Lakeside Library
2022

Other Books in This Series

Crime for the Books Crime for the Books
2022
On Borrowed Crime On Borrowed Crime
2020