A Fatal Mistake A Fatal Mistake
Book 2 - Ryder and Loveday

A Fatal Mistake

    • 4.1 • 55 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

Don’t miss Faith Martin’s fiendishly clever new novel, Murder by Candlelight, set in the 1920s and described as ‘the perfect village mystery’ by J.M. Hall

‘Fiendishly clever… A thoroughly absorbing, gripping read’. Clare Chase

Oxford, 1960. In the glorious sunshine of Oxford, on a day when everyone should be celebrating, tragedy strikes when a university student is found floating in the river, dead.

Probationary WPC Trudy Loveday finds herself paired with coroner Clement Ryder to investigate and it soon becomes clear that this case is not going to be easy.

The witnesses all refuse to give a straight answer, each new lead sends them in a new direction and tales of other missing youngsters add further mystery to the investigation.

One thing is certain though, something doesn’t seem quite right about the university’s most popular student….

A gripping, twisty cozy crime novel that you won't be able to put down. Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Richard Osman and M.C. Beaton.

‘Absolutely loved it… The characters were some of the best I’ve read in a long time.’ Angela Marsons, no. 1 bestselling author of the Kim Stone series

Readers LOVE Faith Martin’s books:

‘Absolutely perfect! This is the book I have been craving since I last read the Thursday Murder Club series!’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Very entertaining… Full of red herrings, plot twists and turns. I thought I knew who was the killer but I was wrong.’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'This author's books are soothing to the soul. Her characters are likable, and the plots always keep me guessing. Excellent fun.'⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Have become an addict of Faith Martin – love her novels.' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Cracking good read' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Plenty of action and drama to keep the reader gripped through to the end' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys crime fiction' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Compelling murder mystery' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

The Ryder and Loveday Series

Book 1: A FATAL OBSESSION

Book 2: A FATAL MISTAKE

Book 3: A FATAL FLAW

Book 4: A FATAL SECRET

Book 5: A FATAL TRUTH

Book 6: A FATAL AFFAIR

Book 7: A FATAL NIGHT

Book 8: A FATAL END

Reviews

Praise for the Ryder and Loveday series:
‘A beautifully crafted crime mystery I could not put down.’ Anita Davison, author of the Flora Maguire series

‘A brilliant book! The pairing of Ryder and Loveday is a stroke of genius.’ Clare Chase, author of the Eve Mallow and Tara Thorpe mysteries

‘Absolutely loved it… The characters were some of the best I’ve read in a long time.’ Angela Marsons, no. 1 bestselling author of the Kim Stone series

‘A thrilling whodunit, packed with Martin’s trademark labyrinthine plotting, stunning twists and turns.’ The Lancashire Post

About the author

Faith Martin has been writing for thirty years and has published over fifty novels. She began writing romantic thrillers as Maxine Barry, but quickly turned to crime! It was when she turned to writing detective stories as Faith Martin that she became more widely known. Having lived in Oxfordshire all her life, both the city and the countryside often feature in her novels. The fauna and wildlife of a farming landscape has always played a big part in her life – and often sneaks its way onto the pages of her books.

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2018
September 5
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
HQ Digital
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
2.6
MB

Customer Reviews

wakereader ,

Fatal mistake

This is a good series. Like the history of Oxford and environs.

PushpushStable ,

A Fatal Mistake

I feel as though I've journeyed back fifty years to when I lived in England as a teenager much the same age as the protagonist. Learning the ropes as a young probationary constable and guided by her mentor, the aging Coroner has led to a charming series of police procedural mysteries.

More Books Like This

The Ryder and Loveday Series Books 1–3 The Ryder and Loveday Series Books 1–3
2021
The Ryder and Loveday Series Books 4-6 The Ryder and Loveday Series Books 4-6
2021
Five Ways To Kill a Man Five Ways To Kill a Man
2017
A Day for Dying A Day for Dying
2017
Death in the Devil's Acre Death in the Devil's Acre
2011
Heirs and Assigns Heirs and Assigns
2015

More Books by Faith Martin

A Fatal Obsession A Fatal Obsession
2018
Joffe Books Murder Mystery & Suspense Short Story Collection Joffe Books Murder Mystery & Suspense Short Story Collection
2021
A Fatal Flaw A Fatal Flaw
2019
A Fatal Affair A Fatal Affair
2021
A Fatal Secret A Fatal Secret
2019
A Fatal Truth A Fatal Truth
2020

Customers Also Bought

Without a Trace Without a Trace
2021
Date with Malice Date with Malice
2017
Broken Silence Broken Silence
2020
Last Seen Alive Last Seen Alive
2022
Date with Mystery Date with Mystery
2018
Dark Memories Dark Memories
2021

Other Books in This Series

A Fatal Flaw A Fatal Flaw
2019
A Fatal Secret A Fatal Secret
2019
A Fatal Truth A Fatal Truth
2020
A Fatal Affair A Fatal Affair
2021
A Fatal Night A Fatal Night
2021
A Fatal End A Fatal End
2022