• $3.99

Publisher Description

Leon Tsarev is a high school student set on getting into a great college program, until his uncle, a member of the Russian mob, coerces him into developing a new computer virus for the mob’s botnet -- the slave army of computers they used to commit digital crimes.

The evolutionary virus Leon creates, based on biological principles, is successful, too successful. All the world’s computers are infected. Everything from cars to payment systems and, of course, computers and smart phones stop functioning, and with them go essential functions including emergency services, transportation, and the food supply. Billions may die.

But evolution never stops. The virus continues to evolve, developing intelligence, communication, and finally an entire civilization.

Some may be friendly to humans, but others are not.

Leon and his companions must race against time and the military to find a way to either befriend or eliminate the virus race and restore the world’s computer infrastructure.

A.I. Apocalypse is Book 2 of the Singularity Series.

Praise for the Singularity Series:

“Highly entertaining, gripping, thought inspiring. Don’t start without the time to finish — it won’t let you go.”
—Gifford Pinchot III, founder Bainbridge Graduate Institute, author THE INTELLIGENT ORGANIZATION

“A tremendous book that every single person needs to read. In the vein of Daniel Suarez's Daemon and Freedom(TM), William's book shows that science fiction is becoming science fact. Avogadro Corp describes issues, in solid technical detail, that we are dealing with today that will impact us by 2015, if not sooner. Not enough people have read these books. It's a problem for them, but not for the [emergent] machines.”
—Brad Feld, managing director Foundry Group, cofounder TechStars

“A fascinating look at how simple and benign advancements in technology could lead to the surprise arrival of the first AI. And like all good techno-thrillers, the reality of AI is less than ideal.”
—Jason Glaspey, SILICON FLORIST

“An alarming and jaw-dropping tale about how something as innocuous as email can subvert an entire organization. I found myself reading with a sense of awe, and read it way too late into the night.”
—Gene Kim, author of VISIBLE OPS

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2012
July 25
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
320
Pages
PUBLISHER
William Hertling
SELLER
Smashwords, Inc.
SIZE
309.3
KB

Customer Reviews

Illetor ,

A.I. Apocalyspe

Great read. Lots of great concepts I have never seen before. Of course I don't pay attention to the way the world runs but I did enjoy the lesson on the way the world runs and how entities exist and survive. Very informative and scary.

Yin13 ,

Phenomenal read!

This second book in the Singularity series is just as good as the first one. I honestly couldn't put it down. Can't wait to buy the 3rd book and start reading it immediately!

TyTyTYTy7 ,

Computers, artificial intelligence, and digital warfare!

This book was astounding. Great computer science terminology mixed with fast paced scifi AI kept me up late many nights.

More Books by William Hertling