• $2.99

Publisher Description

David Ryan is the designer of ELOPe, an email language optimization program, that if successful, will make his career. But when the project is suddenly in danger of being canceled, David embeds a hidden directive in the software accidentally creating a runaway artificial intelligence.

David and his team are initially thrilled when the project is allocated extra servers and programmers. But excitement turns to fear as the team realizes that they are being manipulated by an A.I. who is redirecting corporate funds, reassigning personnel and arming itself in pursuit of its own agenda.

PRAISE FOR AVOGADRO CORP

WINNER SCIENCE FICTION DIY BOOK FESTIVAL 2011-2012

“A tremendous book that every single person needs to read. In the vein of Daniel Suarez’s Daemon and Freedom(TM), William’s book shows that science fiction is becoming science fact. Avogadro Corp describes issues, in solid technical detail, that we are dealing with today that will impact us by 2015, if not sooner. Not enough people have read these books. It’s a problem for them, but not for the [emergent] machines.”
— Brad Feld, managing director Foundry Group, cofounder TechStars

“A highly entertaining, gripping, thought inspiring book. Don’t start without the time to finish — it won’t let you go.”
— Gifford Pinchot III, founder Bainbridge Graduate Institute, author THE INTELLIGENT ORGANIZATION.

“An alarming and jaw-dropping tale about how something as innocuous as email can subvert an entire organization. I found myself reading with a sense of awe, and read it way too late into the night.”
— Gene Kim, author VISIBLE OPS

“A fascinating look at how simple and benign advancements in technology could lead to the surprise arrival of the first AI. And like all good techno-thrillers, the reality of AI is less than ideal.”
— Jason Glaspey on SILICON FLORIST

GENRE
Sci-Fi & Fantasy
RELEASED
2011
November 22
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
279
Pages
PUBLISHER
William Hertling
SELLER
Smashwords, Inc.
SIZE
366.2
KB

Customer Reviews

Enio108 ,

Really enjoyed the story but what's up with all the mistakes?!

Has this book not been proofread?
There are so many English mistakes that it is seriously distracting. Grammar, spelling, the the, missing words, etc...
Pretty sure the author meant palpable, not palatable. The feeling in the room was noticeable not agreeable to the palate.
Sheesh.

priceonly ,

good read

I had a hard time putting this down. I am no computer fan but the story was riveting. I recommend this to any science fiction lover.

Yin13 ,

Great find!

While perusing the morning programs I heard the interview between William Hertling and Glenn Beck. I was intrigued with the book series and bought the first book last Thursday. I'm not a computer geek and really know very little about the tech world other than using my phone, iPad and laptop. Still I found this book fascinating and already finished the 2nd book and looking forward to the rest of the series!! These books are will written, intriguing even if you aren't a computer geek. Like I said great find!

More Books by William Hertling