• $13.99

Publisher Description

The New York Times bestselling first book in Joe Abercrombie's The Age of Madness Trilogy where the age of the machine dawns, but the age of magic refuses to die.
The chimneys of industry rise over Adua and the world seethes with new opportunities. But old scores run deep as ever.
On the blood-soaked borders of Angland, Leo dan Brock struggles to win fame on the battlefield, and defeat the marauding armies of Stour Nightfall. He hopes for help from the crown. But King Jezal's son, the feckless Prince Orso, is a man who specializes in disappointments.
Savine dan Glokta -- socialite, investor, and daughter of the most feared man in the Union -- plans to claw her way to the top of the slag-heap of society by any means necessary. But the slums boil over with a rage that all the money in the world cannot control.
The age of the machine dawns, but the age of magic refuses to die. With the help of the mad hillwoman Isern-i-Phail, Rikke struggles to control the blessing, or the curse, of the Long Eye. Glimpsing the future is one thing, but with the guiding hand of the First of the Magi still pulling the strings, changing it will be quite another . . .
For more from Joe Abercrombie, check out:
The First Law SeriesThe Blade ItselfBefore They Are HangedLast Argument of KingsBest Served ColdThe HeroesRed Country
The Shattered Sea TrilogyHalf a KingHalf a WorldHalf a War

Sci-Fi & Fantasy
September 17
Hachette Digital, Inc.

Customer Reviews

Alex Balling ,

An absolute must read

This isn't the best book in the First Law universe, let's get that out of the way first.

That's only because there's some fierce competition though, and this is an absolutely incredible, fun and thrilling read.

While the action scenes are more vivid and less predictable in Joe's other books, the characters are some of his most well defined to date.

Any fan of the series will thoroughly enjoy this new entry and I personally can't wait to read the rest of the trilogy.

More Books by Joe Abercrombie

Other Books in This Series