• $4.99

Publisher Description

A cold case leads to blazing-hot temptation in this novel of romantic suspense from bestselling author Kathy Clark. For readers of Nora Roberts and Karen Robards, Almost Forever pairs a rugged lawman with a woman who may just be a murderer.
 
Justin Archer is a Texas Ranger through and through, a loyal man devoted to the dangerous job he loves. But when the grisly discovery of a skeleton in a local vineyard turns an old missing-persons case into a vicious homicide, Justin finds that the toughest challenge of his professional career will be keeping his hands off his chief suspect: the dead man’s beautiful, young trophy wife. Did Lori Roberts kill for vast material gain? The only thing Justin knows for sure is that their chemistry is instantaneous—and overpowering.
 
Lori worked hard to build a new life for herself and her daughter. She turned her husband’s struggling vineyard into a thriving enterprise, and now she stands to lose it all over something that happened eight years ago. Justin could lock her up and throw away the key, but Lori desperately wants to trust him. More than that, she wants to let him into her wounded heart. Because Lori’s been running from the past for a long time . . . and she’s ready to start living for the future.

Praise for Almost Forever

“Five stars . . . an intriguing romantic suspense novel that will keep you guessing from the first page to the last . . . It had so many surprising twists and turns, and the ending is very satisfying.”—TBQ’S Book Palace
 
“Five action-packed kisses . . . Can’t wait to get my hands on the next one.”—Sassy Moms Say Read Romance
 
Includes an excerpt from another Loveswept title.

GENRE
Romance
RELEASED
2016
July 26
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
260
Pages
PUBLISHER
Random House Publishing Group
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
2.5
MB

Customer Reviews

Groomsmom ,

Austin Heroes

Almost Forever. An Austin Hero's Novel. Kathy Clark

This is an intriguing romantic suspense novel that will keep you guessing from the first page to the last.

Justin Archer, former police officer, now Texas Ranger is investigating the discovery of human bones on a construction site. Several tests reveal the name of the victim, Mark Roberts, a local winery owner that has been missing for the last eight years. He is found naked, his clothes by his side, a stunning diamond engagement ring in a pocket and no footwear. Justin heads to Crystal Springs Winery to inform the widow.
The winery looks very successful, crowded with festival goers and wine lovers. Not what Justin had expected. Rumor was the winery was not doing well when Mark disappeared. Obviously Mrs Roberts had turned it around. He met in private with Mrs. Roberts to tell her of her husbands death. Being a law officer he was looking for a reaction to the news........her only response was silence, and a slight shaking of her hands. She informed him her marriage was on the rocks, he had multiple affairs, ignored their daughter Mackenzie, and gambled heavily. She had reported him missing, but the report was ignored by the local Sheriff. Justin left with a gut feeling that she was innocent, not to mention seriously attracted to her.

Lori Roberts with the help of friends turned Crystal Springs around to a successful venture. She loved the land, the wine and her daughter. She knew, now that Mark's body had been found, she was under suspicion but was happy to prove her innocence. After an intruder breaks into Lori's home, Justin rushes to the rescue and refuses to leave her and Mackenzie alone. Taken off the case by his superiors, he refuses to leave her side, a "forced" vacation allows him to deal with the mystery and his serious attraction to Lori.

This is the second novel in the Austin Hero's series. It had so many surprising twists and turns, and the ending is very satisfying. Another Chance, the third in the series is scheduled for release in November, 2016. Will definitely be on my TBR list.

I received this ARC from the publisher and NetGalley for an honest review.
Pat Fordyce

More Books by Kathy Clark

Other Books in This Series