• $9.99

Publisher Description

Breq and her crew must stand against an old and powerful enemy, the Lord of the Radch, and fight for the right to determine their own destinies in the stunning conclusion to the NYT bestselling Imperial Radch trilogy A must read for fans of Ursula K. Le Guin and James S. A. Corey.
Winner of the Locus Award for Best Science Fiction Novel 2016
For a moment, things seemed to be under control for Breq, the soldier who used to be a warship. Then a search of Athoek Station's slums turns up someone who shouldn't exist, and a messenger from the mysterious Presger empire arrives, as does Breq's enemy, the divided and quite possibly insane Anaander Mianaai - ruler of an empire at war with itself.

Breq refuses to flee with her ship and crew, because that would leave the people of Athoek in terrible danger. The odds aren't good, but that's never stopped her before.
"There are few who write science fiction like Ann Leckie can. There are few who ever could." -- John Scalzi

In the Ancillary world: Ancillary JusticeAncillary SwordAncillary Mercy
Provenance
For more from Ann Leckie, check out:The Raven Tower

GENRE
Sci-Fi & Fantasy
RELEASED
2015
October 6
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
368
Pages
PUBLISHER
Orbit
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
2
MB

Customer Reviews

SapphoSensei ,

Couldn’t get enough of this trilogy

The characters are compelling and unique. The universe is complex, and deeply layered. A wonderful read from the first book to the last. Was sad to see the end of the trilogy

L J Gill ,

Too Much Lost

The basic story is excellent but the author discarded so much potential reader commitment to the story in the interest of political correctness. The ability of the reader to fully connect and identify with the characters is lost when everyone is a “she” or a “her” and you don’t know if she is he, hers is his or vice versa.

I doubt I would ever read works from this author again. I like my protagonists to be a hero and/or a heroine with whom I can connect, not a faceless blob in my imagination due to the author being a slave to the latest trend in academia.

HRJones ,

An interstellar version of the folktale motif “six go through the world”

If Ancillary Justice was a fascinating tour in non-linear exposition, and Ancillary Sword felt like a cozy mystery set in the midst of a space opera, Ancillary Mercy struck me as an interstellar version of the folktale motif “six go through the world”. That is, a protagonist accumulates a set of unlikely and improbable allies simply due to treating those she encounters with honesty, empathy, and (if you will forgive the word) humanity, to find that those allies come through with a vengeance when the chips are down. And the essence of Breq’s success in gaining allies is the question "what counts as 'humanity?" Who deserves to be treated as having equal significance and whose consent is worth respecting? Issues of colonialism and class consciousness play out at multiple levels and there are additional mythic resonances to reward the observant reader. (For example, the motif of redemption through willing self-sacrifice.) If the resolution relies overmuch on the triumph of good will and virtue, I’m happy to see those things triumph on occasion at the moment. This was a very satisfying conclusion to the trilogy.

More Books by Ann Leckie

Other Books in This Series