Bad Things Happen

    • 4.1 • 105 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

A gripping novel about a man trying to escape his violent past and soon becomes a murder suspect when a publisher—and the husband of the woman he's having an affair with—turns up dead.

The man who calls himself David Loogan is hoping to escape a violent past by living a quiet, anonymous life in Ann Arbor, Michigan. But when he's hired as an editor at a mystery magazine, he is drawn into an affair with the sleek blond wife of the publisher, Tom Kristoll—a man who soon turns up dead.

Elizabeth Waishkey is the most talented detective in the Ann Arbor Police Department, but even she doesn't know if Loogan is a killer or an ally who might help her find the truth. As more deaths start mounting up—some of them echoing stories published in the magazine—it's up to Elizabeth to solve both the murders and the mystery of Loogan himself.

"Witty, sophisticated, suspenseful and endless fun...the best first novel I've read this year." —Washington Post

"A hypnotically readable novel, with...dialog worthy of Elmore Leonard."—Douglas Preston

"Fans of Peter Abrahams and Scott Turow will find a lot to like."—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2009
July 23
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Penguin Publishing Group
SELLER
PENGUIN GROUP USA, INC.
SIZE
880.1
KB

Customer Reviews

Mywaynichols76 ,

It’s worth the read

I have to admit that I wasn’t that thrilled with this book up until almost the end. I felt that it dragged on and was at the edge of boring. Having previously read two of Harry Dolan’s other books I’m definitely a fan of his work but I felt let down by this one in particular. I’m glad I’m stubborn and didn’t give up. It ended up being a really good book with an unexpected plot twist and ending. Even though I had my doubts I can happily say I’m still a fan.

Discerning Reader ,

Grows on you

When I started this book I thought is this ever going to end but it pulls you in. Mr Dolan writes very well.

CWeisbrod ,

Quick read, hard to put down

I enjoyed this book. The book was well written and kept my attention. I finished reading at 1:30 am. It's hard imagine that writers could be so violent. The last scene caught me off guard. I'm still working that one out, not sure how it fits into the story.

Good work, I'm looking forward to your next book.

More Books Like This

2011
2008
2016
1999
2018
2007

More Books by Harry Dolan

2014
2011
2017
2020

Customers Also Bought

2009
2019
2018
2017
2015
2019