• $7.99

Publisher Description

A gripping novel about a man trying to escape his violent past and soon becomes a murder suspect when a publisher—and the husband of the woman he's having an affair with—turns up dead.

The man who calls himself David Loogan is hoping to escape a violent past by living a quiet, anonymous life in Ann Arbor, Michigan. But when he's hired as an editor at a mystery magazine, he is drawn into an affair with the sleek blond wife of the publisher, Tom Kristoll—a man who soon turns up dead.

Elizabeth Waishkey is the most talented detective in the Ann Arbor Police Department, but even she doesn't know if Loogan is a killer or an ally who might help her find the truth. As more deaths start mounting up—some of them echoing stories published in the magazine—it's up to Elizabeth to solve both the murders and the mystery of Loogan himself.

"Witty, sophisticated, suspenseful and endless fun...the best first novel I've read this year." —Washington Post

"A hypnotically readable novel, with...dialog worthy of Elmore Leonard."—Douglas Preston

"Fans of Peter Abrahams and Scott Turow will find a lot to like."—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2009
July 23
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Penguin Publishing Group
SELLER
PENGUIN GROUP USA, INC.
SIZE
880.1
KB

Customer Reviews

Discerning Reader ,

Grows on you

When I started this book I thought is this ever going to end but it pulls you in. Mr Dolan writes very well.

CWeisbrod ,

Quick read, hard to put down

I enjoyed this book. The book was well written and kept my attention. I finished reading at 1:30 am. It's hard imagine that writers could be so violent. The last scene caught me off guard. I'm still working that one out, not sure how it fits into the story.

Good work, I'm looking forward to your next book.

EyeRonik1 ,

Ok but amateurish and lacks insight

Jon Carroll of the SF Chron recommended this book. I don't know why. There are thousands of better books out there.

Don't bother unless you've read every other book on your list.

More Books by Harry Dolan