Barkskins Barkskins

Barkskins

A Novel

    • 4.1 • 286 Ratings
    • $11.99
    • $11.99

Publisher Description

Now a television mini-series airing on National Geographic May 2020!
A Washington Post Best Book of the Year & a New York Times Notable Book


From the Pulitzer Prize–­­winning author of The Shipping News and “Brokeback Mountain,” comes the New York Times bestselling epic about the demise of the world’s forests: “Barkskins is grand entertainment in the tradition of Dickens and Tolstoy…the crowning achievement of Annie Proulx’s distinguished career, but also perhaps the greatest environmental novel ever written” (San Francisco Chronicle).


In the late seventeenth century two young Frenchmen, René Sel and Charles Duquet, arrive in New France. Bound to a feudal lord for three years in exchange for land, they become wood-cutters—barkskins. René suffers extraordinary hardship, oppressed by the forest he is charged with clearing. He is forced to marry a native woman and their descendants live trapped between two cultures. But Duquet runs away, becomes a fur trader, then sets up a timber business. Annie Proulx tells the stories of the descendants of Sel and Duquet over three hundred years—their travels across North America, to Europe, China, and New Zealand—the revenge of rivals, accidents, pestilence, Indian attacks, and cultural annihilation. Over and over, they seize what they can of a presumed infinite resource, leaving the modern-day characters face to face with possible ecological collapse.

“A stunning, bracing, full-tilt ride through three hundred years of US and Canadian history…with the type of full-immersion plot that keeps you curled in your chair, reluctant to stop reading” (Elle), Barkskins showcases Proulx’s inimitable genius of creating characters who are so vivid that we follow them with fierce attention. “This is Proulx at the height of her powers as an irreplaceable American voice” (Entertainment Weekly, Grade A), and Barkskins “is an awesome monument of a book” (The Washington Post)—“the masterpiece she was meant to write” (The Boston Globe). As Anthony Doerr says, “This magnificent novel possesses the dark humor of The Shipping News and the social awareness of ‘Brokeback Mountain.’”

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2016
June 14
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
736
Pages
PUBLISHER
Scribner
SELLER
Simon & Schuster Digital Sales LLC
SIZE
9.5
MB

Customer Reviews

olddue1 ,

Barkskins

Excellent, but lengthy, book for anyone with an interest the coming environmental crises.

mhazelton219 ,

Beautiful

It’s sad and informative and explains a history through the eyes of several groups that impacted North American forests, sending the reader through different worlds at different periods. It touches anyone who cares about the environment in a way few other stories do.

AugustIV ,

The Barkskins

Novels are fiction, we’ve all been told. Yet great novels are truth. This is a great novel.

More Books Like This

Best Australian Short Stories Best Australian Short Stories
2009
Delphi Complete Works of Jack London Delphi Complete Works of Jack London
2013
The Collected Works of Jack London The Collected Works of Jack London
2015
Heart of the West Heart of the West
2020
30+  WORKS OF Jack London( Read the courage and fortitude) 30+  WORKS OF Jack London( Read the courage and fortitude)
2012
The Men Who Shot Liberty: 60 Rip-Roaring Westerns in One Edition The Men Who Shot Liberty: 60 Rip-Roaring Westerns in One Edition
2017

More Books by Annie Proulx

The Shipping News The Shipping News
2008
Brokeback Mountain Brokeback Mountain
2010
The Power of the Dog The Power of the Dog
2009
Close Range Close Range
2007
Bird Cloud Bird Cloud
2011
Accordion Crimes Accordion Crimes
2007

Customers Also Bought

House Made of Dawn  [50th Anniversary Ed] House Made of Dawn  [50th Anniversary Ed]
2018
Asymmetry Asymmetry
2018
The Secret Chord The Secret Chord
2015
The Hotel New Hampshire The Hotel New Hampshire
1997
Shadow Country Shadow Country
2008
The Last Runaway The Last Runaway
2013