Before the Storm Before the Storm

Before the Storm

A Thrilling Historical Novel of Real Life Nazi Hunters

    • 3.5 • 25 Ratings
    • $9.99
    • $9.99

Publisher Description

Perfect for fans of Kate Quinn, Kristin Hannah, and Pam Jenoff, this thrilling, high-stakes Cold War novel from a bestselling author follows one couple’s relentless pursuit of an infamous fugitive Nazi scientist across Europe in the aftermath of WWII.
 
Berlin, 1948: World War II may be over, but a new era of conflict has begun. The Russians have cut off all access to the western part of Berlin in an attempt to seize it from the Allies. The thirst for power, dominance, and revenge is as strong as ever, and anti-Semitism is still rampant. When a store in West Berlin is vandalized with swastikas, Sara Sturm, a German woman working for the US Department of Public Affairs, is dispatched to investigate, and meets Max and Karl Portnoy, two Jewish survivors of the Holocaust.
 
Sharing their stories of loss, Sara and Max form a bond. Max and his family were sent to a concentration camp during the war, where his parents and sister perished. The man who betrayed them, Nazi nuclear scientist Heinz Hoffman, is now a wanted criminal. Since Max and his brother are among the very few who can identify him, Sara agrees to accompany them to Hoffman’s last known whereabouts, hoping they will finally be able to bring him to justice.
But tracking the elusive Hoffman is not just difficult, it’s perilous. From the mountainous backroads of Bavaria to the Soviet border, Sara and Max race to evade assassins sent by the top-secret Odessa organization. And then there are other adversaries, hidden but no less lethal, determined to gain control of Hoffman and the knowledge he possesses—knowledge that may determine the course of countless wars to come.

“Set in 1948 against the backdrop of the Berlin Blockade, this fast-moving Cold War thriller brings to life the shifting alliances that splintered the Allies in the years immediately following WWII. As readers attempt to sort out motives, the plot twists keep coming.” – Booklist
 

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2023
February 21
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
320
Pages
PUBLISHER
Kensington Books
SELLER
Kensington Publishing Corp.
SIZE
1.1
MB

More Books Like This

Into the Unknown - A wrenching Cold War adventure in Germany's Soviet occupied zone Into the Unknown - A wrenching Cold War adventure in Germany's Soviet occupied zone
2021
Spy Dance Spy Dance
2011
In The Skies In The Skies
2021
Sanctuary Sanctuary
2014
Collected Fiction Collected Fiction
2017
Edge of Eternity Edge of Eternity
2014

More Books by James D. Shipman

Irena's War Irena's War
2020
Task Force Baum Task Force Baum
2019
Beyond the Wire Beyond the Wire
2022
A Time for Defiance A Time for Defiance
2024
Dincolo de sarma ghimpata Dincolo de sarma ghimpata
2024
Za ostnatým drôtom Za ostnatým drôtom
2022

Customers Also Bought

The Last Letter from London The Last Letter from London
2023
The German Messenger The German Messenger
2023
Into the Storm Into the Storm
2015
The Fuhrer's Orphans The Fuhrer's Orphans
2020
The Crimson Thread The Crimson Thread
2022
The Novelist from Berlin The Novelist from Berlin
2023