• $9.99

Publisher Description

Switching places with someone else has never been more fun than in this novel about following your dreams and finding your heart from the author of Meant to Be --perfect for readers of Emery Lord and Morgan Matson!


Meet Sloane Emily Jacobs: a seriously stressed-out figure skater who choked during junior nationals. 

Now meet Sloane Devon Jacobs, a spunky ice hockey player who's been suspended from her team for too many aggressive hip checks.

The two girls are on their way to skating camps in Montreal when a luggage mix-up causes them to meet. Pretty soon, the Sloanes realize that this is the opportunity they’ve been waiting for: the chance to escape their lives and switch places for the summer. But it didn't occur to Sloane E. that she might meet a hockey hottie; and Sloane D. never expected to run into a familiar (and very good-looking) face from home. It's not long before the Sloanes discover that convincing people you're someone else might be more difficult than being yourself. 

***

"A twist on the identity-swap that's both cozily familiar and fresh . . . . sweetly uplifting." --Publishers Weekly 


"Enjoyable." --Kirkus Reviews

“Sweet and satisfying.” --Booklist

“Super cute, super hilarious and a totally fun read. I’m a big fan of the “two people switch places and fool everyone around them” plot line (see: The Parent Trap), and Being Sloane Jacobs pulled it off awesomely.” –HelloGiggles.com 

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2014
January 7
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Random House Children's Books
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
10.6
MB

Customer Reviews

Citlali nava ,

Really good

This book was awesome because the conflict kept the story going and I'm not a big fan of romance. But this one had the right amount .loved it !!

rockiegirl ,

The Bookmark Blog fo Being Sloane Jacobs

admit, I picked this one up solely based on Meant to Be. I mean I LOVED that book. But for some reason the title (of all things!) just didn’t pull me in. But I signed up for this blog tour, so I started reading for the tour.

OH MY GOODNESS, OH MY GOODNESS! Sometimes I am so glad that I do things like signing up for tours. It is just the kick in the pants that I need to keep me on track. See, this book involves some of my most favorite things in the world, sports in YA… and yeah, it is awesome!

Okay, now that I got that out of the way… this story was a retelling of the Prince and the Pauper, from the ice rink. One Sloane has grown up in the hockey world and knows that hockey is her ticket to college, the other Sloane has grown up in Washington DC in the political spotlight and is being sent to ice skating camp to ‘rediscover’ her career in figure skating. Both girls are avoiding family issues at home. Both girls have a lot of growing up to do. Both girls need each other and the break that they are taking more than they realized.

I have to say that I knew going in that the figure skating was going to be hard. My oldest daughter is starting in competitive gymnastics this year. Just the fine minute details like remembering to point your toes and holding your hands just right are harder than I thought they would be! I have spent the last few nights ‘coaching’ my daughter on her routine yelling ‘point your toe!’ So I give both Sloane’s credit for jumping into something that was so unknown to them!

All said I couldn’t put this one down once I started. I love Lauren’s style and the book was just fun! Plus, each girl had her love interest, and they just made everything even more fun! These stories were great and I loved the way each one intertwined with each other, proving that no one has the perfect life, no matter how perfect it may seem from the outside.

More Books by Lauren Morrill