Belly Dancing for Beginners

    • 5.0 • 2 Ratings
    • $7.99
    • $7.99

Publisher Description

"Byrski's forte is getting inside women's heads and hearts" Australian Women's Weekly Book of the Month

From the bestselling author of A Month of Sundays, with new novel At the End of the Day out now.

Gayle and Sonya are a study in contrasts: one reserved and cautious, the other confident and outspoken. But their very different lives will be turned upside down when they impulsively join a belly dancing class.

Marissa, their teacher, is sixty, sexy, and very much her own person, and as Gayle and Sonya learn about the origins and meaning of the dance, much more than their muscle tone begins to change. Gayle, crippled by the secrets at the heart of her marriage, is forced to face who and what she has become; the seriously single Sonya begins to explore her isolation from her family; and even Marissa, accustomed to seeing other women changed by the dance, must finally confront a horrifying event from her own past.

And then there are the men in their lives: Oliver, deeply confused about why his politically correct attitude to women never quite seems to work; Brian, blissfully unaware that he's sailing towards the rocks; and Frank, who's battling his own demons.

Belly Dancing for Beginners is a warm-hearted, moving, and often outright funny story of what can happen when women and men are brave enough to reveal who they really are.

PRAISE FOR LIZ BYRSKI

"Her plots and characters get stronger with each book" The Sydney Morning Herald

"Liz Byrski has a guaranteed cheer squad for her novels which champion...women taking charge of their life and growing old creatively" Daily Telegraph

Fans of Monica McInerney, Liane Moriarty and Joanna Trollope will love Liz Byrski.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2007
November 10
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
320
Pages
PUBLISHER
Pan Macmillan Australia
SELLER
Macmillan Publishers Australia and Pan Macmillan Australia
SIZE
1.3
MB

Customer Reviews

Kproreader ,

Glorious story!

This is such a beautifully written story about women discovering themselves and coming into their own. The pace is wonderful—revealing the story through the view of different characters. I just had to keep reading to find out what would happen next. And then at the end, I let out a big gasp of surprise!

More Books by Liz Byrski

2007
2007
2010
2021
2015
2015

Customers Also Bought

2019
2018
2019
2021
2019
2019