• $9.99

Publisher Description

The inspiration for the major motion picture Ashes in the Snow!

"Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both." --The Washington Post


From New York Times and international bestseller and Carnegie Medal winner Ruta Sepetys, author of Salt to the Sea, comes a story of loss and of fear -- and ultimately, of survival.

New York Times notable book
An international bestseller
A Carnegie Medal nominee
A William C. Morris Award finalist
A Golden Kite Award winner

Fifteen-year-old Lina is a Lithuanian girl living an ordinary life -- until Soviet officers invade her home and tear her family apart. Separated from her father and forced onto a crowded train, Lina, her mother, and her young brother make their way to a Siberian work camp, where they are forced to fight for their lives. Lina finds solace in her art, documenting these events by drawing. Risking everything, she imbeds clues in her drawings of their location and secretly passes them along, hoping her drawings will make their way to her father's prison camp. But will strength, love, and hope be enough for Lina and her family to survive?

A moving and haunting novel perfect for readers of The Book Thief.

Praise for Between Shades of Gray:

"Superlative. A hefty emotional punch." --The New York Times Book Review

"Heart-wrenching . . . an eye-opening reimagination of a very real tragedy written with grace and heart." --The Los Angeles Times

"At once a suspenseful, drama-packed survival story, a romance, and an intricately researched work of historial fiction." --The Wall Street Journal

* "Beautifully written and deeply felt . . . An important book that deserves the widest possible readership." --Booklist, starred review

“A superlative first novel. A hefty emotional punch.”--The New York Times Book Review

“A brilliant story of love and survival.”--Laurie Halse Anderson, bestselling author of Speak and Wintergirls 

* “Beautifully written and deeply felt…an important book that deserves the widest possible readership.”--Booklist, Starred Review

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2011
March 22
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Penguin Young Readers Group
SELLER
PENGUIN GROUP USA, INC.
SIZE
6.1
MB

Customer Reviews

AnectRivas ,

Full of emotion

Even thou the novel tells the horrifying experience of a nation, it is tell with great emotion and warm. I cried, laugh, .... It was a great Journey ..

cindella204 ,

So Powerful!

I am a high school student who was on the selection committee for my local library's teen book club, and this was one of the nominated books. I loved it and so did the other readers, it easily made the club's list. This was really powerful, there were times I wanted to laugh, times I wanted to cry, times when I loved Lina, times when I wanted to scream at her, it was AMAZING! I would of loved them to explore the ending more, but it was still such a powerful book. All teens should read, and adults too!

C130scr ,

Between Shades go Gray

Great book,! When you read it will make you mad because the author does a great job portraying the horror that these that these people went through!

More Books by Ruta Sepetys