• $8.99

Publisher Description

The inspiration for the major motion picture Ashes in the Snow!

"Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both." --The Washington Post


From New York Times and international bestseller and Carnegie Medal winner Ruta Sepetys, author of Salt to the Sea, comes a story of loss and of fear -- and ultimately, of survival.

New York Times notable book
An international bestseller
A Carnegie Medal nominee
A William C. Morris Award finalist
A Golden Kite Award winner

Fifteen-year-old Lina is a Lithuanian girl living an ordinary life -- until Soviet officers invade her home and tear her family apart. Separated from her father and forced onto a crowded train, Lina, her mother, and her young brother make their way to a Siberian work camp, where they are forced to fight for their lives. Lina finds solace in her art, documenting these events by drawing. Risking everything, she imbeds clues in her drawings of their location and secretly passes them along, hoping her drawings will make their way to her father's prison camp. But will strength, love, and hope be enough for Lina and her family to survive?

A moving and haunting novel perfect for readers of The Book Thief.

Praise for Between Shades of Gray:

"Superlative. A hefty emotional punch." --The New York Times Book Review

"Heart-wrenching . . . an eye-opening reimagination of a very real tragedy written with grace and heart." --The Los Angeles Times

"At once a suspenseful, drama-packed survival story, a romance, and an intricately researched work of historial fiction." --The Wall Street Journal

* "Beautifully written and deeply felt . . . An important book that deserves the widest possible readership." --Booklist, starred review

“A superlative first novel. A hefty emotional punch.”--The New York Times Book Review

“A brilliant story of love and survival.”--Laurie Halse Anderson, bestselling author of Speak and Wintergirls 

* “Beautifully written and deeply felt…an important book that deserves the widest possible readership.”--Booklist, Starred Review

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2011
March 22
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Penguin Young Readers Group
SELLER
PENGUIN GROUP USA, INC.
SIZE
6.1
MB

Customer Reviews

between shades of grey#1 ,

Between Shades of Grey

This book is one of the amazing books I’ve read about the Holocaust. I Truro love this book. It is one of the greatest books I’ve read.

bob69101 ,

Amazing

I couldn’t have loved this book more, it’s so emotional and powerful that I think about it so much. A part of me wishes I could live in this time period to truly experience what they did. The author did so well and has so many details it’s like I’m reliving history.

paigepresto ,

Amazing Book, I really enjoyed it.

This book really touches your heart. I’m a very slow reader but this was a breeze to read through but so enjoyable. The things these people when through is absolutely horrendous. I can’t believe that I didn’t know much about what was happening in Russia at this time. The only problem I had with the book was the ending. It felt very rushed and very hallmark. I wanted more details but still it’s a very beautiful story and I highly recommend it.

More Books by Ruta Sepetys