Bread Alone Bread Alone

Bread Alone

A Novel

    • 4.3 • 121 Ratings
    • $13.99
    • $13.99

Publisher Description

For fans of Like Water for Chocolate and Woman on Top comes a deliciously magical and mouth watering story, filled with wonder, discovery, and new beginnings.

Thirty-one-year-old Wynter Morrison long ago gave up on finding a suitable career and drifted into the role of trophy wife to an ambitious advertising executive. After her husband decides that their marriage was a mistake Wyn leaves behind her posh, pampered life and ventures north to Seattle, spending aimless hours sipping coffee at a local bakery. As the sweet aromas of freshly-baked bread awaken memories of her apprenticeship at a French boulangerie, she feels the desire and ambition to bake bread once again.

Soon, Wyn finds--in the kneading of the dough and the scent of yeast hanging in the air--an unexpected and wondrous healing power that helps her to rediscover that nothing stays the same. Inspiring and beautifully rendered, Bread Alone is an uplifting debut novel guaranteed to warm the heart.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2012
March 13
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
368
Pages
PUBLISHER
William Morrow
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
1.1
MB

Customer Reviews

jdhs1974 ,

Bread Alone

I loved this book. I’ve learned over the past couple years that, for me, really GOOD conversations among characters pulls me thru and makes me want to read it all the way to the end. This book does that for me. I love the reflections on self discovery and the values that Wynter places on friends, her evaluations of men and whether or not she could stay true to herself or not with one or the other of the men in her life. This book was a very memorable, enjoyable walk thru a portion of someone else’s life lessons. Loved it—and the recipes and lessons in bread baking. Thank you!

HeartHenry ,

Dos

I’ve read this twice now. I force myself to wait at least five years so I can mostly forget all but the major details. And I still rank it in the top five of my all time favorite books. ❤️

NYYazFan ,

I bought this book twice

I bought this book 10 years ago or so & loved it along with everything else she wrote. Love the story of a woman finding herself & finding her passion for her work. Hers is bread baking just love her writing the series. I gave the original book away & when I saw it on sale I didn’t hesitate to buy. She also has a new book (new to iBooks) that I have purchased. You won’t be disappointed in a book about an amazing woman & the love of baking.

More Books Like This

Baker's Blues Baker's Blues
2015
Brunch at Ruby's Brunch at Ruby's
2018
Tapestry of Fortunes Tapestry of Fortunes
2013
The Girls' Guide to Love and Supper Clubs The Girls' Guide to Love and Supper Clubs
2013
Rules of Disengagement Rules of Disengagement
2022
The Woman Who Upped and Left The Woman Who Upped and Left
2016

More Books by Judith R. Hendricks

The Baker's Apprentice The Baker's Apprentice
2009
Isabel's Daughter Isabel's Daughter
2009

Customers Also Bought

Baker's Blues Baker's Blues
2015
The Cookbook Club The Cookbook Club
2020
The Lost Art of Mixing The Lost Art of Mixing
2013
The City Baker's Guide to Country Living The City Baker's Guide to Country Living
2016
A Year on Ladybug Farm A Year on Ladybug Farm
2009
The Taste of Apple Seeds The Taste of Apple Seeds
2014