• $9.99

Publisher Description

In the vein of The Glass Castle, Breaking Night is the stunning memoir of a young woman who at age fifteen was living on the streets, and who eventually made it into Harvard.

Liz Murray was born to loving but drug-addicted parents in the Bronx. In school she was taunted for her dirty clothing and lice-infested hair, eventually skipping so many classes that she was put into a girls' home. At age fifteen, Liz found herself on the streets when her family finally unraveled. She learned to scrape by, foraging for food and riding subways all night to have a warm place to sleep.

When Liz's mother died of AIDS, she decided to take control of her own destiny and go back to high school, often completing her assignments in the hallways and subway stations where she slept. Liz squeezed four years of high school into two, while homeless; won a New York Times scholarship; and made it into the Ivy League. Breaking Night is an unforgettable and beautifully written story of one young woman's indomitable spirit to survive and prevail, against all odds.

GENRE
Biographies & Memoirs
RELEASED
2010
September 7
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
304
Pages
PUBLISHER
Hachette Books
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
1.3
MB

Customer Reviews

writer4you ,

Recommended textbook for one of my college classes!

This book was a recommended textbook for one of my college classes. We were required to read a chapter every week and a half then write our opinions on it. The professor warned us that the book is a little dark or sad at the beginning with Liz’s life then as chapters go on it gets better. She was right and I learned from my professor that she is a big fan of Liz’s life following her on social media and all. When I read this book I did not expect to see Liz’s life starting from the addiction of her parents. To the struggles that she and her friends went through while homeless in New York. This book really was a page-turner and I even had some emotions spill out of me. Happiness, crying, and even the occasional dislike for her ex-boyfriend Carlos. At the end, I won’t spoil the ending but will say that it was well thought out. I give my review 5 stars and recommend anyone with a compassionate heart for those who are homeless please read this book. I have looked back on my life now after reading and realized that there’s a lot of stuff that I have taken for granted.

Arianna Tx ,

Without a doubt, inspiring!

After I watched the movie, from homeless to Harvard, so many times, I needed a deeper and more direct source of inspiration. And I guarantee that you will get that from this book!

Go Live On Purpose ,

A wonderful memoir

The love she had for her parents is amazing. And also the determination to follow her dreams is very inspirational.

More Books by Liz Murray