Clara: A Novel Clara: A Novel

Clara: A Novel

War Could Not Destroy Her Spirit or Lessen Her Love

    • 3.0 • 2 Ratings
    • $11.99
    • $11.99

Publisher Description

Inspired by a true story and based on a wealth of family documents, this elegant and compelling novel chronicles the lives of two families from the 1930s through the coming of the Nazis and World War II, and the long, difficult post-War period to the present. A must-read for fans of Irene Nemirovsky, Hans Fallada, and Bernhard Schlink's The Reader.
 
This vividly realized, masterfully executed novel is a window into a little-explored corner of history. Patient Number 7 is a story of love between an aristocratic young woman and the cavalry officer -- later Panzer officer in the German army -- she marries; between friends who help each other through the Nazi takeover of Austria, the war, and what was sometimes worse, the "liberation"; between a mother and her two very different daughters. But it is also the story of a nation's darkest days, and its slow recovery during one of the most convulsive, violent periods of human history. Beautifully written, haunting, and ultimately redemptive, it is a work of great skill and great compassion.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2012
March 27
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
McClelland & Stewart
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
6.8
MB

More Books Like This

The German Heiress The German Heiress
2020
The Major's Daughter The Major's Daughter
2014
Chasing the Wind Chasing the Wind
2018
The Last Summer of the World: A Novel The Last Summer of the World: A Novel
2008
Tightrope Tightrope
2015
Collected Stories Collected Stories
2020

More Books by Kurt Palka

The Piano Maker The Piano Maker
2015
The Orphan Girl The Orphan Girl
2022
The Hour of the Fox The Hour of the Fox
2018
Tage, die für immer bleiben Tage, die für immer bleiben
2021
Les roses rouges du Mexique Les roses rouges du Mexique
1985
Das Geheimnis der Pianistin Das Geheimnis der Pianistin
2016

Customers Also Bought

Something to Hide Something to Hide
2022
The Huntress The Huntress
2019
The Diamond Eye The Diamond Eye
2022
The Book of Lost Names The Book of Lost Names
2020
Before We Were Yours Before We Were Yours
2017
The Rose Code The Rose Code
2021