Corpse Candle (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 13) Corpse Candle (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 13)

Corpse Candle (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 13‪)‬

A gripping medieval mystery of monks and murder

    • 4.7 • 14 Ratings
    • $1.99
    • $1.99

Publisher Description

A phantom horseman. A murdered abbot. A locked door.

Paul Doherty weaves an intricately plotted mystery in Corpse Candle, in which Sir Hugh's powers of deduction are tested by one of his most puzzling cases. Perfect for fans of Susanna Gregory and Michael Jecks.


'Paul Doherty has captured the atmosphere of an enclosed community where there is nowhere to hide from an assassin who appears not to have a motive. Well written... A thumping good read' - South Wales Argus

The Brothers of the abbey of St Martin's-in-the-Marsh usually pay little heed to the tales of robber baron Sir Geoffrey Mandeville's ghost galloping through the Lincolnshire fens with a retinue of ghastly horsemen. They may hear the shrill blast of a phantom hunting horn, or see the corpse candles glowing in the dark, but none really accepts the peasants' belief that these flickering lights can forewarn men of their own deaths. The monks are protected by the monastery's high wall and their powerful abbot - a friend of King Edward I - and, although their leaders sometimes argue over the abbey's future, their lives are peaceful and comfortable. But then Abbot Stephen is found murdered in his chamber, with the door and windows locked from the inside, and Sir Hugh Corbett, Keeper of the King's Seal, arrives to investigate.

What readers are saying about Corpse Candle:
'This book [has] elegance, history and mystery that will make you scared but wanting to turn the page'
'Intrigue is maintained throughout with interesting twists'
'Another excellent book that just could not be put down!'

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2012
October 30
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
233
Pages
PUBLISHER
Headline
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
2.1
MB

More Books Like This

Kemp: The Flames of Heresy Kemp: The Flames of Heresy
2023
Act of Oblivion Act of Oblivion
2022
Kemp: The Castle in the Marsh Kemp: The Castle in the Marsh
2019
Hawker and the King's Jewel Hawker and the King's Jewel
2022
The Fall of the Templars The Fall of the Templars
2009
Midwinter Midwinter
2019

More Books by Paul Doherty

The Nightingale Gallery The Nightingale Gallery
2020
The House of the Red Slayer The House of the Red Slayer
2020
And Then You're Dead And Then You're Dead
2017
Murder Most Holy Murder Most Holy
2020
The Assassin's Riddle The Assassin's Riddle
2020
A Shrine of Murders (Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries, Book 1) A Shrine of Murders (Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries, Book 1)
2013

Customers Also Bought

Nightshade Nightshade
2011
Blood On The Strand Blood On The Strand
2010
A Wicked Deed A Wicked Deed
2010
The Mark Of A Murderer The Mark Of A Murderer
2010
A Grave Concern A Grave Concern
2016
The Lost Abbot The Lost Abbot
2013