• $10.99

Publisher Description

New York Times bestselling author Jacqueline West makes her YA debut in this Shakespeare-inspired novel for fans of Holly Black and Laini Taylor

"If you liked the trippy hallucinations of Black Swan, you'll be mesmerized by Jacqueline West's eerie new YA romance."—Entertainment Weekly

Who can you trust when you can't trust yourself?

Jaye wakes up from a skiiing accident with a fractured skull, a blinding headache, and her grip on reality sliding into delusion. Determined to get back to her starring role in the school production of A Midsummer Night's Dream, Jaye lies to her sister, her mom, her doctors. She's fine, she says. She's fine. If anyone knew the truth—that hallucinations of Shakespeare and his characters have followed her from her hospital bed to the high school halls—it would all be over. She's almost managing to pull off the act when Romeo shows up in her anatomy class. And it turns out that he's 100 percent real. Suddenly Jaye has to choose between lying to everyone else and lying to herself.

Troubled by this magnetic boy, a long-lost friend turned recent love interest, and the darkest parts of her family's past, Jaye's life tangles with Shakespeare's most famous plays until she can't tell where the truth ends and pretending begins. Soon, secret meetings and dizzying first kisses give way to more dangerous things. How much is real, how much is in Jaye's head, and how much does it matter as she flies toward a fate over which she seems to have no control?

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2016
April 5
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
368
Pages
PUBLISHER
Penguin Young Readers Group
SELLER
PENGUIN GROUP USA, INC.
SIZE
1.2
MB

Customer Reviews

AnotherAnonymousGirl13 ,

😐

The beginning of this book was great. It originally focused on how Jaye’s injury and visions affected her life, and her relationships with her dad, pierce, and rob were all interesting subplots. But then, halfway through the story, things started to change. The characters became more shallow, one sided, and dramatic. It became more about the “romance,” (which is very weak) and Jaye sulking about her dad. This book, although it was placed on a brilliant concept, just morphed into the “girl with a troubled past falls for a ‘bad boy’ while the perfect boy she’s should want to be with is chasing after her” cliche. Literally CHASING after her.

Jaye is a dramatic character and I eventually got sick of her whining.
Pierce is an obnoxious, creepy lunatic even though you’re supposed to like him.
Rob is literally boring. There is absolutely nothing special about his character.
Sadie, Jaye’s sister, is very one dimensional, which is sad because I think she would be extremely interesting if she wasn’t.

Three stars. One for the beginning, two for the writing, which I will give the author credit for.

More Books by Jacqueline West