• $6.99

Publisher Description

The first book in Anna Carey’s chilling Eve trilogy, Eve is perfect for fans of The Handmaiden’s Tale. After a deadly virus wiped out most of Earth's population, the world is a terrifying place. Eighteen-year-old Eve has grown up isolated from the rest of the destroyed world in an all-girls school. But it isn’t until the night before her graduation that she discovers what her duties will be once she graduates.

To avoid the horrifying fate that awaits her, Eve flees the only home she’s ever known. On the run, she encounters Caleb, a rough, rebellious boy living in the wild. Eve knows she shouldn’t trust him, but he slowly wins her confidence…and her heart. He promises to protect her, but when soldiers begin hunting them, Eve must choose between true love and her life.

Eve is the first book in Anna Carey’s trilogy, full of romance, adventure, sacrifice, all set in a near future that is both wonderfully strange, and chillingly familiar.  

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2011
October 4
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
HarperCollins
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
855.3
KB
AUDIENCE
Ninth Grade

Customer Reviews

perfectiiOnn(-:< ,

Okay read.

A great book to do a summary on. The book did have a very sick king. Thats all, giving nothing away! I was looking page to page praying more action would happen! Eve is way from strong spirited.The ending was very dry and sucked the action out of me. Honestly I might pass on the next book. I believe it's called Once? The only way I will read that book is if Eve becomes stronger.

Pineapple_Orc ,

Hmm

It was intriguing for a while then became questionable-yet-bearable, then gradually just went into a very steep decline and disappeared somewhere off a cliff (hanger).
The best character here is not even the main protagonist, but her enemy-turned-friend. It started to become increasingly hard to like, or even sympathize with the main protagonist (Eve)especially towards the end of the 1st book.
A third of the way through, it seemed like it was getting better, I thought, “Ah..more character development and maybe a backstory and flesh out more of this world..” but then the main female protagonist once again made it real clear how shtoopid and selfish she is. She is sooo self absorbed, she does things that endangers others, mulls over it in the amount of time it takes paint to dry, then quickly goes back to pining over a guy she supposedly fell in love(?) with within 5 mins of meeting him. (You’d think it would’ve taken longer considering she was taught most of her life that males are evil, rapists).
Anyway, Eve just comes off as a shallow bimbo.
I hope she improves. Her love interest is toxic as well (ie. Raid night). I mean..that scene was just..like wut? Walk in to assault, see victim obviously distressed but the first thing that pops into your mind is who does the victim prefer, you or the attacker?? Bruh..
I wish there was an Arden spin off. She was far more interesting and I wish Eve had half her common sense and will power. Get it together Eve.

Bonita Austin ,

Eve

The book builds you up and gives you a lot of details, but it doesn't do what it should. It doesn't tell you about her mother, how the plague started, why the king want her and no one else, what the city is like, or what happens at the end. I liked it at first but I hate the ending, it's like a teenager wrote it! But if you want to read it go ahead.

More Books by Anna Carey

Other Books in This Series