Excuse Me While I Ugly Cry

    • 4.6 • 77 Ratings
    • $10.99
    • $10.99

Publisher Description

Excuse Me While I Ugly Cry by debut author Joya Goffney is a story of an overly enthusiastic list maker who is blackmailed into completing a to-do list of all her worst fears. It’s a heartfelt, tortured, contemporary YA high school romance. Fans of Jenny Han’s To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and Kristina Forest’s I Wanna Be Where You Are will love the juicy secrets and leap-off-the-page sexual tension.

“A hilarious and swoonworthy story.” —Kristina Forest, author of Now That I’ve Found You

“A fun, emotionally rich romance with a sweet, imperfect character who will win your heart.” —Liara Tamani, author of All the Things We Never Knew

Quinn keeps lists of everything—from the days she’s ugly cried, to “Things That I Would Never Admit Out Loud” and all the boys she’d like to kiss. Her lists keep her sane. By writing her fears on paper, she never has to face them in real life. That is, until her journal goes missing . . .

Then an anonymous account posts one of her lists on Instagram for the whole school to see and blackmails her into facing seven of her greatest fears, or else her entire journal will go public. Quinn doesn’t know who to trust. Desperate, she teams up with Carter Bennett—the last known person to have her journal—in a race against time to track down the blackmailer.

Together, they journey through everything Quinn’s been too afraid to face, and along the way, Quinn finds the courage to be honest, to live in the moment, and to fall in love.

A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection

Epic Reads Recommended Pick at Target

A Kirkus Children's Best Book of 2021

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2021
May 4
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
HarperTeen
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
1.6
MB
AUDIENCE
Eighth Grade

Customer Reviews

Jocelynn94 ,

Loved it!

I honestly loved everything about this book! The love interests, the friends and the entire development of everything! Look forward to reading more of her books!

Jordyn-Bleu ,

This book has a chokehold on me

I love it so much. The characters, the dialogue, everything. Its so perfect. I love how it talks about the stereotypes for black people, and the representation. I love it so much I can’t I even explain.

mayareads ,

plot holes were its downfall

Overall good read. I would have liked to see some closure with Matt, Quinn's dad really get to the root of his anti-blackness. Also, her parents’ relationship was confusing in general.

More Books by Joya Goffney

2022
2023
2022

Customers Also Bought

2020
2020
2022
2022
2021
2018