• $3.99

Publisher Description

1942, Germany: A Nazi fortune. A Jewish girl hiding in plain sight. An impossible choice…

 

When the Nazis destroyed everything Margarete Rosenbaum knew, taking everything and everyone she treasured, she prayed only to survive. Until, chance allowed her to disguise herself as Annegret Huber, the daughter of a prominent Nazi.


As Annegret, Margarete had a moment of safety, but now the legacy of her false identity means she must make a devastating decision, and risk everything to save the lives of others.


Because the true Annegret and her family are now dead, and the fortune is all hers – all Margarete’s. There is a grand house with crystal chandeliers, and a factory with fences built high and topped with cruel curls of barbed wire. Inside, the workers shiver, their faces gaunt from hunger. Margarete struggles to hide her gasp when—amongst the faces of the prisoners—she sees one that is achingly familiar.


Suddenly, she has hundreds of lives in her hands, including one who means more to her than anyone else left in the world. There’s no question that she must act. From that moment, Margarete is more than just a girl in hiding. She’s a girl who can save others. But in her new position of power, surrounded by the Nazi elite, she knows every move she makes is being watched.


As the war tears through the country she loves, and turns the world dark, Margarete knows she can’t ignore her chance to stand up against evil. Even if it means risking her own life to save the innocents in her protection…

 

An absolutely gripping and devastating story about courage and sacrifice in the darkest days of war. Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, All the Light We Cannot See, and The Nightingale.


Readers are loving From the Dark We Rise:

 

Wow… so amazingly captivating. I devoured this book in one sitting, unable to stop turning the pages… I had to read through non-stop to the end. I loved it… Breath-taking and intense… Pne unforgettable read. I wish I could give ten starsWow, just wow, I’m totally speechlessPhenomenal.” PageTurners Blog ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Absolutely gripping and devastatingThe book feels like a race against time. Will Margarete be discovered? Will she be able to make a difference? Will she live? A WWII page-turner that I loved until the last minute.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


I devoured this book within about a 24-hour period… Gut-wrenching scenes… I felt really tense as I was reading… There is heartache and hope and at times I felt as if I could hardly take a breath.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Totally immersing… Pure escapism… If you enjoyed Schindler’s List and love a fast-paced 5-star historical fiction featuring a strong female protagonist, this book needs to be on your radar.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

“This author is seriously becoming one of my favorite historical fiction WW2 authors… I was feeling all of the emotions, and fear that our main character was feeling, plus the story just came off the page and came to life.” Spooky's Maze Of Books ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Brilliant… Both incredibly sad and encouragingly hopeful.” Christian Novel Review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Highly addictive… Suspense, drama, mystery, intrigue, and surprises to keep even the seasoned historical fiction reader on their toes. Margarete is such a strong and complex lead character that I devoured her story.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Fantastic… A book that made me think about my own life and how we should appreciate…things that we so easily take for granted. A story of bravery and determination.” Linda Strong Book Reviews


Stays with you long after readingThis book made me cry and weep at the injustice of it all… A heart wrenching read… sprinkled with moments of kindness that gave me hope for humanity.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Heart-breaking, haunting and gut-wrenching…A brilliantly written novel about sacrifice, courage, resilience and love… Historical fiction at its best.” Bookish Jottings ⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Amazing!… I was gripped… Brilliant story, brilliant characters, brilliant writing.Nat’s Bookish Corner ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2021
November 17
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
303
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
StoryFire Ltd
SIZE
2.9
MB

More Books by Marion Kummerow

2016
2019
2019
2021
2021
2018

Other Books in This Series

2022
2021