• $9.99

Publisher Description

Hell's Foundations Quiver: David Weber's New York Times-bestselling Safehold series begun with Off Armageddon Reef, By Schism Rent Asunder, By Heresies Distressed, A Mighty Fortress and Like a Mighty Army.


Centuries ago, the human race fought its first great war against an alien race-and lost. A tiny population of human beings fled to distant Safehold. Centuries later, their descendants have forgotten their history; for them, life has been an eternal Middle Ages, ruled by the Church of God Awaiting, whose secret purpose is to prevent the re-emergence of industrial civilization.

But not all of Safehold's founders were on board with this plan. Those dissidents left behind their own secret legacies. One of those is Merlyn Athrawes, cybernetic avatar of one of Earth's long-dead defenders, now reawakened after a thousand years to restart human progress and reclaim our place in the universe. Merlyn has intervened in the small Safeholdian realm of Charis, seeding it with ideas and innovations and helping it to rise to challenge the hegemony of the Church.

It's been a long and bloody fight, but aided by a stream of inventions--breech-loading rifles, signal rockets, claymore mines, new approaches to manufacturing and supply-Charis and its few allies seem to have finally gained the upper hand. Now major realms have begun to consider switching sides.

To all these ends, Merlyn Athrawes has been everywhere, under multiple disguises and wielding hidden powers. The secret of who and what he is has been closely held. But a new player has arrived, one who knows many secrets-including Merlyn's own.

Safehold Series
1. Off Armageddon Reef
2. By Schism Rent Asunder
3. By Heresies Distressed
4. A Mighty Fortress
5. How Firm A Foundation
6. Midst Toil and Tribulation
7. Like A Mighty Army
8. Hell's Foundations Quiver
9. At the Sign of Triumph

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Sci-Fi & Fantasy
October 13
Tom Doherty Associates

Customer Reviews

Bitter Arugula ,

Wait for the discount paperback

Based solely on the rest of the series, it can't be worth paying a premium price for this book. Certain to feature some great battle sequences, but wait for the bargain rack.

Eyescratcher ,

Editorless bloat

Each book keeps getting longer more and more pages with less and less story. If someone could get an editor around David Weber’s pontificating bloat again, and force him to write about characters and a developing plot instead of this egotistical mental vomit, and we might actually get a product worth buying much less reading.

Ruppy1 ,

Mostly a disappointment

I really enjoyed the first few books of the series: interesting premise, good characters, good military fiction. Alas, now it has become a question of how many more volumes the author can get out of this series to keep the money flowing.

80% of this book is logistics, with 10% forwarding the plot and 10% appendix. The logistics could easily have been improved by maps which showed the areas in better detail. I was constantly referring to maps that did not show the location of the current action.

I long for a book with an ending, and feel ripped off reading a story in installments. In the case of this book, there was even less plot or character progression than the last . This author can and should do better.

More Books by David Weber

Other Books in This Series