• $8.99

Publisher Description

This USA Today bestselling boxed set brings together the first four books in the romantic and suspenseful Victorian San Francisco Mystery series: Maids of MisfortuneUneasy SpiritsBloody Lessons, and Deadly Proof.

Maids of Misfortune introduces Annie Fuller, a young widow who runs the O'Farrell Street boardinghouse and supplements her income by giving financial and domestic advice as Madam Sibyl. When one of Madam Sibyl's clients dies in mysterious circumstances, Annie goes undercover as a domestic servant to find out the truth about his death. Against his better judgment, Nate Dawson, the Voss family lawyer, finds himself drawn into helping in her investigations, alternatively fascinated and frustrated by Annie's independent nature. 

Uneasy Spirits finds Annie Fuller and Nate Dawson, assisted by the boardinghouse maid, Kathleen, delving into the world of 19th century Spiritualism in order to expose a fraudulent trance medium. They will soon find there are as many secrets as there are spirits swirling around the séance table and some of those secrets will threaten the foundation of Annie's career as Madam Sibyl and the future of her relationship with Nate Dawson, and, in time, they will threaten her very life itself.

In Bloody Lessons, Annie Fuller has been asked by her beau, Nate Dawson, to find out who has been sending poison pen letters to tarnish the reputations of San Francisco public school teachers. The case becomes personal when they discover that Nate's sister Laura may be one of the teachers being targeted. 

In Deadly Proof, first place winner of Chanticleer's 2018 Mystery and Mayhem historical mystery award, Annie helps her fiancé, Nate Dawson, with a troubling case—defending a female typesetter who is accused of killing her employer. Complicating matters, Nate's sister Laura decides to take the investigation into her own hands.

This collection of four cozy, historical mysteries, set in late nineteenth-century San Francisco, are appropriate for teens to adults, and it is a welcome companion to the fifth book in the series, Pilfered Promises, and Locke's Victorian San Francisco Stories and Victorian San Francisco Novellas, which feature beloved minor characters.

Mysteries & Thrillers
July 22
M. Louisa Locke
Draft2Digital, LLC

More Books by M. Louisa Locke