A Wind from the Wilderness

    • 5.0 • 1 Rating
    • $3.99
    • $3.99

Publisher Description

Hunted by demons. Lost in time. Welcome to the First Crusade.

Syria, 636: As heretic invaders circle Jerusalem, young Lukas Bessarion vows to defend his people. Instead, disaster strikes.

His family is ripped apart. His allies are slaughtered. And Lukas is hurled across the centuries to a future where his worst nightmares have come true...

Constantinople, 1097: Ayla may be a heretic beggar, but she knows one thing for sure: six months from now, she will die. Before then, she must avenge her father's murder—or risk losing her soul.

Desperate to find their way home, Lukas and Ayla join the seven armies marching east to liberate Jerusalem. If Lukas succeeds in his quest, he'll undo the invasion and change the course of history.

But only as long as Ayla never finds out who he really is…

Dark magic, bloody warfare, and star-crossed love collide in this "utterly enthralling" Historical Fantasy perfect for fans of Outlander and City of Brass (The Fantasy Hive). Read 2020 SPFBO finalist A Wind from the Wilderness today!

(Content Warning: The author has provided a content warning for character death and child harm/endangerment)

GENRE
Sci-Fi & Fantasy
RELEASED
2018
October 29
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
498
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bocfodder Press
SELLER
Draft2Digital, LLC
SIZE
1.2
MB

Customer Reviews

Tkathleen ,

Refreshing Change

This is one of those rare books that I didn't want to put down. It is a really good book. Can it be uncomfortable, well-yes but that yes has lots of ifs tied to it. It is a book of war, of conquest, of oppression, of hate, of revenge; and yes, those things can be uncomfortable if we choose to find them uncomfortable. It helps to remember that we are not responsible for the past, we are not responsible for someone else's actions, and that we can always make a different choice.
The book reminds us how easy it is to fall under propaganda, fall under the sway of revenge, of fear, of wanting salvation to the point that we make poor choices and keep a relentless cycle going; and sadly that cycle is still going on today in many areas of the world. It is book that reminds us war is solely for the purpose of the pricks in power and those who want it, those who think they are better. I reminds us what happens when we feel threatened by others perspectives/beliefs/life choices. It reminds us that revenge will continue until we personally, individually say-NO.
One of the main characters finally says no to her 'supposed tos and shoulds' and instead chooses to be true to herself, regardless of the outcome. I loved it.
It is obvious in the retelling of the crusades that war fixes nothing and never will, that peace will never be found through war, never. Some of her characters realize that peace can only be found in the heart and by those who want it, and that some people just don't want it. And with this realization those characters make different different choices.

More Books by Suzannah Rowntree

2017
2021
2021
2021
2022
2022

Other Books in This Series

2019
2020
2022